Publication Date: 11/07/2019 ISBN: 9781472255143 Category:

Scrublands

Chris Hammer

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Publication Date: 11/07/2019 ISBN: 9781472255143 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

* * * WINNER OF THE CWA JOHN CREASEY DAGGER * * *

‘Shimmers … a tortured tale of blood and loss’ Val McDermid

‘Stunning … Scrublands is that rare combination, a page-turner that stays long in the memory’ Sunday Times (Crime Book of the Month)

The #1 Bestselling Australian crime novel, perfect for fans of Peter May and Jane Harper

In an isolated country town ravaged by drought, a charismatic young priest opens fire on his congregation, killing five men before being shot dead himself.

A year later, journalist Martin Scarsden arrives in Riversend to write a feature on the anniversary of the tragedy. But the stories he hears from the locals don’t fit with the accepted version of events.

Just as Martin believes he is making headway, a shocking discovery rocks the town. The bodies of two backpackers – missing since the time of the massacre – are found in the scrublands. The media descends on Riversend and Martin is the one in the spotlight.

Wrestling with his own demons, Martin finds himself risking everything to uncover a truth that becomes more complex with every twist. But there are powerful forces determined to stop him, and he has no idea how far they will go to make sure the town’s secrets stay buried.

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible