Publication Date: 06/06/2024 ISBN: 9780857529923 Category:

Sandwich

Catherine Newman

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publication Date: 06/06/2024 ISBN: 9780857529923 Category:
Hardback

£16.99

Become the envy of all book lovers with your own Mr B’s sticker to show off where you do your shopping.

Quantity:

Description

The joyful summer read, perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Nora Ephron

One week in Cape Cod. The perfect family holiday. What could possibly go wrong…?

Instant NEW YORK TIMES bestseller
STYLIST Book of the Month: ‘A holiday reading gem’
GUARDIAN Book of the Week: ‘Wise and exquisitely written’
RACHEL JOYCE: ‘A piece of perfection’

For the past two decades, Rocky has looked forward to her family’s yearly escape to Cape Cod. Their rustic beach-town rental has been the site of sweet memories, its quirky furniture and mismatched pots and pans greeted like old friends.

Now, sandwiched between her children who are adult enough to be fun but still young enough to need her, and her parents who are alive and healthy, Rocky wants to preserve this golden moment forever. This one precious week when everything is in balance; everything is in flux.

But every family has its secrets and hers is no exception.

With her body in open revolt and surprises invading her peaceful haven, the perfectly balanced seesaw of Rocky’s life is tipping towards change…

GRAZIA Book Club Pick
ANN PATCHETT: ‘Sandwich is joy in book form’
NINA STIBBE: ‘Funny, wise, poignant’
OBSERVER ‘A gem of a novel’
Richard and Judy Book Club selected author for We All Want Impossible Things

____________

Praise for SANDWICH:

‘Sandwich is joy in book form. I laughed continuously, except for the parts that made me cry. Catherine Newman does a miraculous job reminding us of all the wonder there is to be found in life’ Ann Patchett, author of Tom Lake

‘If you are after a book to pack on your next holiday, look no further. Here is a novel which will go down as easily as a chilled poolside drink’ i Newspaper

‘I adored this novel and am forcing it on everyone I know – Jenny Colgan, author of The Summer Skies

‘Newman is truly a master of taking complex and chaotic human emotion and making sense of it’ Guardian

‘If you want to laugh out loud, tear up and rush to pull out a book in the 35 seconds between subway stops, this sweet, savory, tenderhearted Sandwich fits the bill, and goes down like (bread and) buttah’ New York Times

‘A wonderful book about how families love, disagree, fail one another – and endure’ Rachel Joyce, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry

‘Engaging, frank, funny and moving…in every sense the hot summer read’ Daily Mail

We All Want Impossible Things, RIchard and Judy Book Club Pick, Autumn 2023

Publisher Review

Sandwich is joy in book form. I laughed continuously, except for the parts that made me cry. Catherine Newman does a miraculous job reminding us of all the wonder there is to be found in life. * Ann Patchett, New York Times bestselling author of Tom Lake * A piece of perfection... Family, love, secrets, a marriage that is ordinary, imperfect, sexy and beautiful... I laughed, I cried and I laughed some more... a wonderful book about how families love, disagree, fail one another - and endure. * Rachel Joyce, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry * I adored this novel and am forcing it on everyone I know * Jenny Colgan, author of The Summer Skies * Catherine Newman is basically a national treasure at this point... so it's not surprising that her new hilarious, deeply moving, gorgeously plotted, beautifully written, slyly subversive new novel, Sandwich, hit me like a ton of bricks.... a novel written from a place of wonder and love * Joanna Rakoff, NYT bestselling author of My Salinger Year *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible