Publication Date: 08/07/2021 ISBN: 9781409198666 Category:

Sad Janet

Lucie Britsch

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication Date: 08/07/2021 ISBN: 9781409198666 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99


This book is scheduled to be published on 08/07/2021.
You can order it now and we'll ship it once available.
Quantity:

Description

A whip-smart black comedy for fans of Fleabag and My Year of Rest and Relaxation
‘Brutally hilarious … I loved it deeply.’ LUCY MANGAN
‘Like a grown up Daria’ HELEN MCCLORY
‘Loved this book’ EMMA GANNON
‘Surprising and irreverent’ NEW YORK TIMES

Named one of the Best Books of the Summer by LitHub, The Millions, Refinery29, and Hey Alma.

***

Meet Janet. Janet is sad. Not about her life, about the world. Have you seen it these days?

The thing is, she’s not out to make anyone else sad. She’s not turning up to weddings shouting that most marriages end in divorce. She just wants to wear her giant coat, get rid of her passive-aggressive boyfriend, and avoid human interaction at the rundown dog shelter where she works.

That is, until word spreads about a new pill that promises cynics like her one day off from being sad. When her family stages an intervention, and the prospect of making it through Christmas alone seems like too much, Janet finally decides to give them what they want. What follows is life-changing for all concerned – in ways no one quite expects.

Hilarious, provocative and profound, Sad Janet is the antidote to our happiness-obsessed world.

***

PRAISE FOR SAD JANET:

‘If you’re a Halle Butler fan or like despair cut with humour, you’ll love this’ Leigh Stein, author of SELF CARE

‘As I was reading this, my partner kept asking why I was laughing. This book is dark and hilarious and will speak to everyone who’s ever wondered why they spend time with humans and not just dogs’ Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of Starling Days and Harmless Like You

‘A tragicomic riot of a book – charging, foul-mouthed and tender, across the modern condition’ Claudia Dey, author of Heartbreaker

‘Try reading Sad Janet … It might just make you happy’ Marcy Demansky, author of Very Nice

‘A biting, pitch-perfect novel about one woman’s desire to stay true to herself in a world that rewards facile happiness … a dazzling debut’ Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney

‘The narrative voice of Janet in Britsch’s debut novel is a skin-tingling combination of new and necessary’ Booklist starred review

‘Loved this book… it made me lol via the dark humour and dry observations. An artful take on the “happiness economy”‘ Emma Gannon, author of Olive

‘I loved SAD JANET’S cynical humour. Superbly original, with spot-on one-liners. Brilliantly bleak, but with a spark of hope’ Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults

‘Hilarious, wise, wicked and tender’ CYNTHIA D’APRIX SWEENEY

‘Sharp, sad, hilarious’ CLARE BEAMS

Publisher Review

Told in Janet's distinctive voice, I found this engaging satirical novel very funny * Daily Mail *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible