Special
Price
Publication Date: 20/09/2018 ISBN: 9780356511368 Category:
Featured in Mr B's 2018 Christmas Catalogue

Rosewater

Tade Thompson

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication Date: 20/09/2018 ISBN: 9780356511368 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99 £8.09

Quantity:

Mr B's review

Mr B’s Christmas Catalogue Review 2018

Nigeria, 2066. Rosewater is a town on the edge, a community formed around a mysterious alien biodome. When rumours of its strange healing powers begin to spread, thousands descend, hungry for a glimpse. Kaaro is a government agent with a past. He has seen inside the biodome and has no wish to do so again. He is a ‘sensitive’, a psychic able to read minds, and when people like him start getting sick and die, he is drawn into a battle he isn’t prepared for.

Description

Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel
Africa’s first award for speculative fiction
John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction Novel

‘A magnificent tour de force’ Adrian Tchaikovsky

‘Smart. Gripping. Fabulous!’ Ann Leckie

‘Mesmerising’ M. R. Carey

Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless – people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers.

Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn’t care to again – but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

Publisher Review

Rosewater asks you uncomfortable questions about what is right, what is wrong, what you’ll tolerate, and what is human — Mike Brooks Breathtakingly smart prose — SEATTLE REVIEW OF BOOKS You’ve never been anywhere like Rosewater. And you’ve never seen an alien invasion like this. Tade Thompson will take you someplace incredible, full of unforgettable characters and deep insight. Rosewater cements his place as one of our our boldest and most exciting new writers — Sam J. Miller A strange and unsettling story of psychics, conspiracy, and alien invasion unlike anything I’ve read before. Masterfully constructed, brimming with ideas and slowly unfolding mystery, Rosewater hurt my brain in the best of ways — Fonda Lee, author of JADE CITY As strange, vivid and intricate as the alien biosphere at its heart, Rosewater is a fabulous book and Tade Thompson is a writer of enormous heart and talent. Just brilliant — Dave Hutchinson In addition to providing a gritty and intricately plotted science fiction mystery, Thompson’s opening of the Wormwood Trilogy considers what it means to be human — Booklist Perfect for fans of William Gibson’s NEUROMANCER, this twisty, captivating page-turner explores the fragility of the mind and how memory constructs identity — BookPage A fiercely weird, breathtaking biopunk tale of alien invasion, Rosewater is ambitious and smart and very, very cool — Tasha Suri, author of EMPIRE OF SAND This series is going to be addictive. See you on the other side — STYLIST (featured as a top ten pick for September) Hard-edged and utterly compelling — i newspaper A magnificent tour de force, skilfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas — Adrian Tchaikovsky, author of CHILDREN OF TIME Hugely satisfying . . . a darkly beautiful gem — SFX Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no-one — M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS Smart. Gripping. Fabulous! — Ann Leckie

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible