Publication Date: 23/04/2010 ISBN: 9781444000054 Category:

Revolver

Marcus Sedgwick

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
Publication Date: 23/04/2010 ISBN: 9781444000054 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

Sig Andersson has a choice to make – use the gun or die. An unforgettable, razor-sharp psychological thriller set in the snowy wilderness of the Arctic Circle. Recipient of a Michael L. Printz Honor 2011, shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2010 and longlisted for the GUARDIAN Children’s Fiction Prize 2010.

1910. A cabin north of the Arctic Circle. Fifteen-year-old Sig Andersson is alone. Alone, except for the corpse of his father, who died earlier that day after falling through a weak spot on the ice-covered lake. His sister, Anna, and step-mother, Nadya, have gone to the local town for help.

Then comes a knock at the door. It’s a man, the flash of a revolver’s butt at his hip, and a mean glare in his eyes. Sig has never seen him before but Wolff claims to have unfinished business with his father.

As Sig gradually learns the awful truth about Wolff’s connection to his father, his thoughts are drawn to a certain box hidden on a shelf in the storeroom, in which lies his father’s prized possession – a revolver.

As the stakes rise and Wolff begins to close in, Sig’s choice is pulled into sharp focus. Should he use the gun?

Publisher Review

a powerful thriller... Tense, thought-provoking and original. -- Emma Lee Potter * DAILY EXPRESS * An outstanding psychological thriller about the Arctic gold rush -- Fiona Noble * THE BOOKSELLER * ?one of the finest and best-constructed page turners of the year? Tense, succinct, evocative and ingenious, and one to haunt you long after the summer is over? -- Nicolette Jones * THE SUNDAY TIMES * The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters. * SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL, STARRED REVIEW * REVOLVER crackles with more razor-sharp tension and tightly coiled plotting than books twice its length * THE DAILY MAIL * A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy. * THE HORN BOOK, STARRED REVIEW * An elegant, brilliantly executed tale... This novel of only 167 pages is packed with more excitement and wisdom than many twice its length. * THE TIMES * Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale. * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, STARRED REVIEW * A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of desolate terrain and Sig's difficult decisions. * KIRKUS REVIEWS, STARRED REVIEW * A gripping thriller * THE GUARDIAN *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible