Publication Date: 03/03/2020 ISBN: 9781789093131 Category:

Re-Coil

J.T. Nicholas

Publisher: Titan Books Ltd
Publication Date: 03/03/2020 ISBN: 9781789093131 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

The Expanse meets Altered Carbon in this breakneck science fiction thriller where immortality is theoretically achievable, yet identity, gender and selfhood are very much in jeopardy…

Carter Langston is murdered whilst salvaging a derelict vessel-a major inconvenience as he’s downloaded into a brand-new body on the space station where he backed up, several weeks’ journey away. But events quickly slip out of control when an assassin breaks into the medbay and tries to finish the job.

Death no longer holds sway over a humanity that has spread across the solar system: consciousness can be placed in a new body, or coil, straight after death, giving people the potential for immortality. Yet Carter’s backups-supposedly secure-have been damaged, his crew are missing, and everything points back to the derelict that should have been a simple salvage mission.

With enemies in hot pursuit, Carter tracks down his last crewmate-re-coiled after death into a body she cannot stand-to delve deeper into a mystery that threatens humanity and identity as they have come to know it.

Publisher Review

A classic story of a cover-up, told in a fun, fast-paced way...Fans of James S.A. Corey's Expanse series will enjoy this tale of high-tech mystery and shifting loyalties. - Booklist "slips neatly in and out of sci-fi subgenres...Re-Coil is a surprisingly fast and fun book, considering how deliberately ponderous it needs to be" - The Frumious Consortium A fascinating take on life extension treatments that goes beyond 'nifty idea' to deal with the consequences, combined with a vividly written action-adventure." Elizabeth Moon Re-Coil is a slow-burn thriller that heats up to an intriguing set up of a transhumanist future and corporate skulduggery." Glynn Stewart Perfect for fans of Altered Carbon." Gareth L. Powell Re-Coil is an intriguing and fast-moving mix of bio-tech and space opera. L. E. Modesitt, Jr. "A thriller and a thinker that's as much sc-fun as sci-fi." The Sunday Sport Review "This non-stop action thriller pits workers against corporations and knows which side it's on." Morning Star A classic story of a cover-up, told in a fun, fast-paced way... Fans of James S.A. Corey's Expanse series will enjoy this tale of high-tech mystery and shifting loyalties. Booklist Review Readers will be drawn in by the compassionate characters and captivating premise. Publishers Weekly "This is a story that kicks off at breakneck speed... A compelling, multi-layered sci-fi tale." Culturefly

Find this book on the following lists

  • Mr B’s Books to Remember in a Year to Forget: Science Fiction, Space and Spaceships

    Browse The List

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible