Publication Date: 01/08/2024 ISBN: 9781526671905 Categories: ,

Rare Singles

Benjamin Myers

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date: 01/08/2024 ISBN: 9781526671905 Categories: ,
Hardback

£18.99


This book is scheduled to be published on 01/08/2024.
You can order it now and we'll ship it once available.

Description

A warm, tender and funny story about unlikely friendships, second chances, and the magic of soul music – perfect for fans of Nick Hornby, David Nicholls and Jonathan Coe

*Selected as a book of 2024 by the Guardian and New Statesman**

Dinah has always lived in Scarborough. Trapped with her feckless husband and useless son, her one release comes at her town’s Northern Soul nights, where she gets to put on her best and lose herself in the classics.

Dinah has an especial hero: Bucky Bronco, who recorded a string of soul gems in the late Sixties and then vanished off the face of the earth. When she manages to contact Bucky she can’t believe her luck.

Over in Chicago, Bucky Bronco is down on his luck – and has been since the loss of his beloved wife Maybelle. The best he can hope for is to make ends meet, and try and stay high.

But then an unexpected invitation arrives, from someone he’s never met, to come to somewhere he’s never heard of. With nothing to lose – and in need of the cash – Bucky boards a plane.

And so Bucky finds himself in rainy Scarborough, where everyone seems to know who is – preparing to play for an audience for the first time in nearly half a century. Over the course of the week, he finds himself striking up new and unexpected friendships; and facing his past, and its losses, for the very first time.

Wise, hilarious and profound, Rare Singles is an unforgettable story about the power of music and friendship to bring us back to ourselves.

Publisher Review

Following the Goldsmiths-winning Cuddy, a tale of soul music and second chances, as a washed-up American singer meets a Scarborough woman * GUARDIAN, Books to look out for in 2024 * Scarborough’s Northern Soul scene is the setting for Rare Singles by the Durham-born Benjamin Myers, who won the 2023 Goldsmiths Prize * NEW STATESMAN, 2024: The year in fiction * Returns Myers to his past as a music journalist, telling a warmly nostalgic tale of northern soul and unlikely friendship in Scarborough. The great but forgotten Bucky Bronco’s visit to the Yorkshire coast is handled with Myers’s customary humour and generosity of spirit. * GUARDIAN, Fiction to look out for in 2024 * Praise for Benjamin Myers: One of our finest, and most deftly imaginative, writers * I NEWS * What a radical thing, these days, to have written a book so full of warmth and kindness … Gorgeous — MAX PORTER A writer of extraordinary and incandescent talent — ALEX PRESTON Here is a strong, spiritual writer who sees and loves every dewdrop, old oak, soft little animal and buried sword, and offers them up to us like the precious treasures they are * THE TIMES * Book by book, over the past decade, Ben Myers has proved himself to be one of the most singular, moving and crucial voices of our times — DAVID PEACE

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible