Publication Date: 16/03/2017 ISBN: 9781473631601 Category:

Poison City

Paul Crilley

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date: 16/03/2017 ISBN: 9781473631601 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

‘Blazes with pace and wit – Crilley has produced a real page turner’ Ed McDonald, author of BLACKWING

Perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher.

The name’s Gideon Tau, but everyone just calls me London. I work for the Delphic Division, the occult investigative unit of the South African Police Service. My life revolves around two things – finding out who killed my daughter and imagining what I’m going to do to the bastard when I catch him.

I have two friends in my life. The first is my boss, Armitage, a fifty-something DCI from Yorkshire who looks more like someone’s mother than a cop. Don’t let that fool you.

The second is the dog, my magical spirit guide. He talks. He’s an alcoholic. And he’s a mean drunk.

Life is pretty routine – I solve crimes, I search for my daughter’s killer. Wash, rinse, repeat. Until the day I’m called out to the murder of a ramanga – a low-key vampire. It looks like an open and shut case. There’s even CCTV footage of the killer.

Except… the face on the CCTV footage? It’s the face of the man who killed my daughter.

And that’s just the beginning of the trouble I’m about to get into.

Publisher Review

An early Tarantino version of an urban fantasy... The war is coming, says the cover; given this first battle, it's going to be one hell of a ride. * Starburst on POISON CITY * A sarcastic, demon-fighting cop with magic dragon tattoos and an alcoholic talking dog as a sidekick... Poison City is everything you never knew you wanted in a book. Buy it now! * Krysten Ritter on POISON CITY * Steeped in sun, sin, whiskey and magic, I devoured Poison City. Rarely has policing the impending apocalypse been so awesome. Sequel now! * Claire North on POISON CITY * Crilley's magical world ain't kid stuff. If you like your spellcraft dangerous, exhilarating, and chillingly double-edged, look no further. * Becky Chambers, author of THE LONG WAY TO A SMALL, ANGRY PLANET on POISON CITY *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible