Publication Date: 02/09/2021 ISBN: 9781526614711 Category:

Pirate Stew

Neil Gaiman, Chris Riddell

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date: 02/09/2021 ISBN: 9781526614711 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

Meet LONG JOHN McRON, SHIP’S COOK . . . and the most unusual babysitter you’ve ever seen.

Long John has a whole crew of wild pirates in tow, and – for two intrepid children – he’s about to transform a perfectly ordinary evening into a riotous adventure beneath a pirate moon. It’s time to make some PIRATE STEW.

Marvellously silly and gloriously entertaining, this tale of pirates, flying ships, donut feasts and some rather magical stew is perfect for all pirates, both young and old. With a deliciously rhyming text from master storyteller Neil Gaiman, and spellbinding illustrations by the supremely talented Chris Riddell, three-times-winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal, this is the picture book of the year! Joyful, quirky and action-packed, it makes a spectacular and magical gift.

Publisher Review

Neil Gaiman is the nearest thing children's books have to a rock star: if you enjoy fantasy, he is irresistible * The Times * Splendid ... A feast for the ears and eyes * The i * Readers may wish that Talk Like a Pirate Day lasted all year long * Kirkus Reviews (starred review) * Highly enjoyable ... the perfect ingredient for a raucous read-aloud. Riddell's predictably fabulous illustrations are ablaze with colour and detail * Booklist * A riotous rhyming picture book by a pair of ingenious book-aneers ... A buccaneering blast of a book that demands to be read aloud, acted out and treasured like ill-gotten gains! * LoveReading4Kids * The talented dream team of Gaiman and Riddell have done it again. Fantastic rhyming story with the most fabulously intricate illustrations. I could look at them for hours. Perfect for reading out loud or for any little readers, piratical or otherwise * NetGalley Reviewer * Gaiman's literary prowess and Riddell's genius illustrations come together again in a brilliant book, which is guaranteed to fly off bookshelves and library shelves around the world * NetGalley Reviewer * Fans of Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell are going to love this. Funny and magical and bound to be a great story before bedtime * NetGalley Reviewer * Featuring a flying pirate ship, a delicious donut shop and a rollicking rhyme by Neil Gaiman (which is best read aloud for full pirate effect), Pirate Stew is a great book for storytime with brilliant illustration (featuring a mixed race family) by former Children's Laureate Chris Riddell * BookTrust * an anarchical rhyming romp that will keep you Yo Ho Ho-ing on every reading ... Mad and magnificent * Daily Mail * Pirate Stew is a very enjoyable book with very colourful pictures. The story line is funny with a twist at the end * Toddle About *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible