Publication Date: 27/06/2019 ISBN: 9781788951548 Category:

Patron Saints of Nothing

Randy Ribay

Publisher: Little Tiger Press Group
Publication Date: 27/06/2019 ISBN: 9781788951548 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

SHORTLISTED FOR THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2020

“A heartbreaking and original novel.” – Guardian

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s murder.

When Jay Reguero hears of his cousin Jun’s death, everything changes. Although years have passed since they were last in contact, the stories about Jun just don’t fit with the boy Jay knew. Hoping to uncover the truth, Jay travels to Jun’s home in the Philippines – but the shocking realities of life there lead to even more questions. Can Jay find the answers he seeks?

A gripping and lyrical YA novel for fans of Angie Thomas’s THE HATE U GIVE, Patrice Lawrence’s ORANGEBOY and Nic Stone’s DEAR MARTIN.

A US NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR YOUNG PEOPLE FINALIST

“This is nothing short of a tremendous feat and will certainly solidify Ribay as a singular voice in the world of literature for years to come.” – Jason Reynolds, author LONG WAY DOWN

“This powerful and courageous story offers readers a refreshingly emotional depiction of a young man of color with an earnest desire for the truth.” – Kirkus starred review

“[A] much needed window [and a] deep, nuanced, painfully real family drama.” – ALA Booklist starred review

Publisher Review

"Lyrical. Stunning. Searing. PATRON SAINTS OF NOTHING is the real deal, a unique and intimate look into the extrajudicial murders in Duterte's war on drugs in the Philippines. Ribay's arresting narration and knack for characterization drive a story that is unlike anything else you'll read this year." -- Mark Oshiro, author of ANGER IS A GIFT "I can't stop thinking about this beautiful book that left me in tears. A searing, soul-searching novel about grief and identity. This book makes me proud to be Filipino American." -- Melissa de la Cruz, author of ALEX AND ELIZA "Randy Ribay seamlessly takes the cultural texture of the Philippines, the complexities between ethnicity and nationality, political tension and the propaganda that buttresses it, and, most importantly, teenage life, and weaves them all into a thick braid that asks one question: What is the truth? And the necessity to know that truth - the fight it takes to find that truth - somehow gets right to the core of who young people are. This is nothing short of a tremendous feat and will certainly solidify Ribay as a singular voice in the world of literature for years to come." -- Jason Reynolds, author of LONG WAY DOWN "Brilliant, honest, and equal parts heartbreaking and soul-healing. I'll give this astounding book to all the teens and adults in my life. I suspect you will, too. I'd give it 50 stars if I could." -- Laurie Halse Anderson, author of SHOUT "[A] much needed window [and a] deep, nuanced, painfully real family drama." -- ALA Booklist starred review "This powerful and courageous story offers readers a refreshingly emotional depiction of a young man of color with an earnest desire for the truth." -- Kirkus starred review

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible