Publication Date: 22/03/2018 ISBN: 9781509853168 Category:

Out of the Blue

Sophie Cameron

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication Date: 22/03/2018 ISBN: 9781509853168 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

Sophie Cameron’s Out of the Blue is a story of love and acceptance and finding your place in this world, as angels drop out of another.

When angels start falling from the sky, it seems like the world is ending. But for Jaya the world ended when her mother died, two weeks before the first angel fell.

Smashing down to earth at extraordinary speeds, wings bent, faces contorted, not a single angel has survived and, as the world goes angel crazy, Jaya’s father uproots the family to Edinburgh, intent on catching one alive. But Jaya can’t stand his obsession and, struggling to make sense of her mother’s sudden death and her own role on that fateful day, she’s determined to stay out of it. Then something extraordinary happens: an angel lands right at Jaya’s feet, and it’s alive . . .

Set against the backdrop of the frenzied Edinburgh festival, Out of the Blue tackles questions of grief and guilt and fear over who we really are.

Publisher Review

a charming debut, radiant with humanity and heart * LoveReading * A magical tale * iNews * a unique, charming novel by a powerful writer who moves easily between abrasive teenage wit and unsentimental, lyrical insights into grief. * BookTrust * A strong infusion of magic and wonder * Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review * Ideal for fans of Laini Taylor * Buzzfeed *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible