Publication Date: 04/04/2019 ISBN: 9781509870042 Category:

Opposite of Always

Justin Reynolds

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication Date: 04/04/2019 ISBN: 9781509870042 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

‘One of the best love stories I’ve ever read.’ Angie Thomas, bestselling author of The Hate U Give.

From debut author justin a. reynolds comes The Opposite of Always, a razor-sharp, hilarious and heartfelt novel about the choices we make, the people we choose and the moments that make life worth reliving. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and John Green.

When Jack and Kate meet at a party, he knows he’s falling – hard. Soon she’s meeting his best friends and Kate wins them over as easily as she did Jack.

But then Kate dies. And their story should end there.

Yet Kate’s death sends Jack back to the beginning, the moment they first meet, and Kate’s there again. Healthy, happy, and charming as ever. Jack isn’t sure if he’s losing his mind.

Still, if he has a chance to prevent Kate’s death, he’ll take it. Even if that means believing in time travel. However, Jack will learn that his actions are not without consequences. And when one choice turns deadly for someone else close to him, he has to figure out what he’s willing to do to save the people he loves.

‘Read this one, reread it, and then hug it to your chest.’ Becky Albertalli, bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Publisher Review

This is a great, quick and easy read * Shout magazine * A witty, poignant time-loop story. * The Guardian * Jack's narration is as funny as it is poignant as he moves from romantic to frantic and back again... [a] sentimental but not saccharine fantasy. * Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books * [Reynolds] creates an enormously likable character who is doing the best he can and then some ...the book's blend of humor and heartbreak wins out. * Publishers Weekly * Reynolds spins a poignant, dizzying tale of love and loss in this page-turning time-travel fantasy. * Horn Book * Romeo and Juliet meets Groundhog Day and Love Story in this wonderfully romantic story of teenage love and second chances.... Reynolds creates a pair of unforgettable protagonists who are doomed to love, lose, and work to find one another again and again. * Kirkus Reviews * A love story about friendship with a "choose your own adventure" twist... Any teen who's ever wanted a do-over will enjoy reading this story. * School Library Journal * Read this one, reread it, and then hug it to your chest. Reynolds' debut is wise, heartfelt, and wildly, infinitely charming. -- Becky Albertalli, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agendaand Leah on the Offbeat This charming, wry novel packed with witty, crackling banter is propulsively readable. There are some big questions about choice, consequences, loyalty, and love in this novel, and Reynolds beautifully complements those heavy concerns with the sweet, funny, and genuine voice of his protagonist. * Booklist * Wise, heartfelt and infinitely charming -- Becky Albertalli, author of Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda (filmed as Love Simon) Jack King is the hero we've been waiting for -- Angie Thomas, author of The Hate U Give

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible