Publication Date: 23/07/2020 ISBN: 9780008382728 Category:

Olive

Emma Gannon

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 23/07/2020 ISBN: 9780008382728 Category:
Hardback

£14.99

Quantity:

Description

The debut novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author, Emma Gannon.
‘Thoughtful, searching, funny, and (most importantly) honest’ Elizabeth Gilbert
‘Brilliantly observed’ Sophie Kinsella
‘It’ll give a voice to countless women’ Marian Keyes
‘Utterly distinctive’ Emma Jane Unsworth

OLIVE is many things.

Independent.
Adrift.
Anxious.
Loyal.
Kind.
She knows her own mind.

And it’s ok that she’s still figuring it all out, navigating her world without a compass. But life comes with expectations, there are choices to be made and – sometimes – stereotypes to fulfil. So when her best friends’ lives branch away towards marriage and motherhood, leaving the path they’ve always followed together, she starts to question her choices – because life according to Olive looks a little bit different.

Moving, memorable and a mirror for anyone at a crossroads, OLIVE has a little bit of all of us. Told with great warmth and nostalgia, this is a modern tale about the obstacle course of adulthood, milestone decisions and the ‘taboo’ about choosing not to have children.

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Dawn O’Porter and Otegha Uwagba!

Publisher Review

'This tale of four young women trying to sort out the dilemmas of motherhood ... will bring relief and recognition to many. It's a lovely book - thoughtful, searching, funny, and (most importantly) honest' Elizabeth Gilbert 'Funny in parts, painful in others, thoughtful throughout, it explores many dilemmas, with characters who feel utterly real' Sophie Kinsella 'It'll give a voice to countless women . . . a profound issue wrapped inside an accessible, highly engaging novel' Marian Keyes 'Gutsy and refreshing' HEAT 'It's warm and charming and yet VERY brave in its honesty about having children and how that impacts female friendships. I suspect a lot of women will feel relieved and seen when they read it' Holly Bourne 'Important themes explored by a true champion of women' Nina Stibbe 'So fresh and funny and utterly distinctive . . . I loved it' Emma Jane Unsworth 'A delicate, heartbreaking and delicious story that will bring a pang of delightful recognition to every woman who reads it' Scarlett Curtis 'Honest, relatable, and incredibly real, Olive is going to resonate with an entire generation of young women' Louise O'Neill 'In Gannon's capable hands, women are not so much divided along their disparate lines - but united' Pandora Sykes 'Cuts rights to the heart of conversations around women and the stereotypes we either adhere to - or reject' Cosmopolitan 'I raced through this brilliant, brilliant book, feeling more thoroughly seen than I have in years. Olive's story is big and bright and beautiful, and holds up a much-needed mirror to society' Lucy Vine 'Incredibly warm and loveable, you won't be able to put Olive down' Bustle

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible