Publication Date: 15/04/2021 ISBN: 9781472131522 Category:

Nightshade

E. S. Thomson

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication Date: 15/04/2021 ISBN: 9781472131522 Category:
Hardback

£18.99

Quantity:

Description

‘Vivid, pungent and perilous’ CHRIS BROOKMYRE on Beloved Poison

‘Evocative…brilliant plotting’ REBECCA GRIFFITHS on Beloved Poison

A gripping and darkly atmospheric thriller set in Victorian London, perfect for fans of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, The Strangers Diaries and The Silent Companions.

London, 1851. Restless and bored after a long hot summer, apothecary and poison expert Jem Flockhart decides to redesign her physic garden. But plans are thrown into confusion when a man’s skeleton is unearthed from beneath the deadly nightshade, a smaller, child-like skeleton curled at its feet. The body bears evidence of knife wounds to its ribs and arms, and is accompanied by a collection of macabre objects: a brass bowl, a curious coin-like token, a set of tiny ivory sculls.

The police claim the victim is too long-buried for answers to be found, but for Jem, a corpse in her own garden is something that cannot be ignored. The plans to the garden, laid out some forty years earlier, reveal a list of five names. When Jem and Will start asking questions, the murders begin. Each victim has a past connection with the physic garden; each corpse is found with its jaw broken wide and its mouth stuffed with deadly nightshade.

As they move closer to uncovering the truth Jem Flockhart and Will Quartermain encounter a dark world of addiction, madness, power and death that strikes at the very heart of Jem’s own history. This time, the poison is personal. . .

Praise for E. S. Thomson’s novels:

‘Superb’ Sunday Express

‘Gothic. Gory. Glorious . . . E. S. Thompson’s Jem Flockhart books are the best I’ve read in years. Jem is just my kind of heroine: scarred, smart, complex, and unapologetically queer’ Kirsty Logan, author of The Gloaming

‘Love evocative descriptions of Victorian London and brilliant plotting? Then grab a copy of this!’ Rebecca Griffiths, author of The Primrose Path

‘Here’s a tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter’s night’ Evening Telegraph

‘Jem Flockhart’s London is vivid, pungent and perilous’ Chris Brookmyre

‘Complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable’ Daily Express

‘A marvellous, vivid book’ Janet Ellis

‘Jem Flockhart is a marvel . . . This vivid journey into the dark side of the human soul is a thoroughly engrossing tale’ Mary Paulson Ellis, author of The Other Mrs Walker

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible