Publication Date: 21/02/2019 ISBN: 9780062691194 Category:

New Kid

Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Publication Date: 21/02/2019 ISBN: 9780062691194 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature!

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds-and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

This middle grade graphic novel is an excellent choice for tween readers, including for summer reading.

New Kid is a selection of the Schomburg Center’s Black Liberation Reading List.

Plus don’t miss Jerry Craft’s Class Act!

Publisher Review

"Funny, sharp, and totally real! Jordan Banks is the kid everyone will be talking about!" -- Jeff Kinney, Author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid "Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year." -- Booklist (starred review) "An engrossing, humorous, and vitally important graphic novel that should be required reading in every middle school in America." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "This is more than a story about being the new kid-it's a complex examination of the micro- and macroaggressions that Jordan endures from classmates and teachers. Highly recommended for all middle grade shelves." -- School Library Journal (starred review) "This engaging story offers an authentic secondary cast and captures the high jinks of middle schoolers and the tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Award-winning author/illustrator Jerry Craft confronts elitism, microaggression, racism, socioeconomic disparity and white privilege in a familiar setting. His preteen audiences will undoubtedly recognize and empathize with Craft's memorable cast." -- Shelf Awareness, (starred review) "Craft's full-color comics art is dynamic and expressive. This school story stands out as a robust, contemporary depiction of a preteen navigating sometimes hostile spaces yet staying true to himself thanks to friends, family, and art." -- Horn Book Magazine "Genuine characters propel this funny, warm, biting, fearless story. Entertaining and insightful, it will surely offer affirmation for some readers, revelation for others." -- Cooperative Children's Book Center "New Kid is at once tender and tough, funny and heartbreaking. Hand this to the middle-grade reader in your life right away." -- The New York Times Book Review "An honest and compelling read for any kid looking for a place to belong." -- Scholastic Teacher Magazine "This beautifully crafted work captures 'tween angst, recognizes everyday and systemic injustice, and challenges everyone to do better by every kid." -- The San Francisco Chronicle

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible