Special
Price
Publication Date: 07/11/2019 ISBN: 9780241396568 Category:

Ness

Robert Macfarlane, Stanley Donwood

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication Date: 07/11/2019 ISBN: 9780241396568 Category:
Hardback

£14.99 £13.49

Quantity:

Mr B's review

A hypnotic blend of narrative, poetry, art, nature and myth, the latest collaboration between nature writer Robert Macfarlane and acclaimed artist Stanley Donwood bends genre and form. It is also part-mystery, following five more-than-human forms as they traverse land, sea and time, heading for the mystical Green Chapel, where they will converge and take a new form – Ness. This beautiful work will appeal to fans of Max Porter, Melissa Harrison and Benjamin Myers.

Description

Eerie, unsettling and hauntingly beautiful – a new collaboration from the bestselling creators of Holloway

‘Ness goes beyond what we expect books to do. Beyond poetry, beyond the word, beyond the bomb — it is an aftertime song. It is dark, ever so dark, nimble and lethal. It is a triumphant libretto of mythic modernism for our poisoned age. Ness is something else, and feels like it always has been’ Max Porter, Booker-longlisted author of Lanny and Grief is the Thing with Feathers

Somewhere on a salt-and-shingle island, inside a ruined concrete structure known as The Green Chapel, a figure called The Armourer is leading a ritual with terrible intent.

But something is coming to stop him.

Five more-than-human forms are traversing land, sea and time towards The Green Chapel, moving to the point where they will converge and become Ness. Ness has lichen skin and willow-bones. Ness is made of tidal drift, green moss and deep time. Ness has hagstones for eyes and speaks only in birds. And Ness has come to take this island back.

What happens when land comes to life? What would it take for land to need to come to life? Using word and image, Robert Macfarlane and Stanley Donwood have together made a minor modern myth. Part-novella, part-prose-poem, part-mystery play, in Ness their skills combine to dazzling, troubling effect.

Robert Macfarlane is the author of The Lost Words with Jackie Morris, The Old Ways and Underland, among other books.

Stanley Donwood is an artist and the author of Slowly Downward and Household Worms. His next books are There Will Be No Quiet and Bad Island.

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible