Publication Date: 05/07/2018 ISBN: 9781783446896 Category:

Mud

Emily Thomas

Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Publication Date: 05/07/2018 ISBN: 9781783446896 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

LONGLISTED FOR THE CARNEGIE MEDAL
An achingly funny, touching story for anyone who has been thrown in at the deep end.

‘Smart and funny. It will tug at your heartstrings’ Dawn O’Porter

It’s 1979, and thirteen-year-old Lydia has no idea how she’ll cope when her dad announces that the family has to sell up and move onto a Thames sailing barge in Essex. With his girlfriend. And her three kids.
Between trying to keep her clothes dry in a leaky cabin, disastrous hair-dye attempts, awkward encounters with local boys, and coping with her suddenly enormous and troublesome family, Lydia fears she’ll sink rather than swim . . .
At turns heartbreaking and uplifting, through Lydia’s innocent and perceptive voice we find out that while the mud may stick, the tide can turn – and in unexpected and joyful ways.

Perfect for fans of Louise Rennison, Hilary McKay and Rae Earl

Publisher Review

"Smart and funny. It will tug at your heartstrings" -- Dawn O'Porter "This delectable novel... Historically evocative and full of amusing thoughts, it scoots along with wind in its sails." -- Nicolette Jones * Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week * "This original and tender comic novel is an apparent contradiction: a hugely funny story about grief, parental alcoholism and loneliness" -- Imogen Russell Williams * Guardian * "Touching, warm, heart breaking and hilarious." -- Vivian French * BookTrust - Best Kids' Books of 2018 * "...poignant yet funny novel" * Mail on Sunday - Books of the Year 2018 * "...funny and moving" * The Telegraph - 50 Best Books of 2018 * "...a very accomplished debut that, despite being set in 1979, will resonate powerfully with today's teenagers who struggle with adolescent insecurities and fractured families." -- Sally Morris * Daily Mail - Best Books for Christmas 2018 * "Poignant tale of a teenage diarist and her flaky father.... Lydia's voice - a mixture of protest and reconciliation - is the book's genius." * Daily Telegraph * "Mud is a dark comedy of family implosion and Thomas's evocation of wry, romantic adolescence is impeccable." -- Rowan Pelling * i News * "A searing and touching portrait of a family overwhelmed by grief under the shadows of alcoholism and emotional neglect. A remarkably assured debut, based on the author's own life." -- Sally Morris * Daily Mail * "Equal parts funny and heart-breaking, Lydia's knowing yet naive voice shines through. Think I Capture The Castle set on a boat." -- Sarra Manning * Red Magazine *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible