Publication Date: 03/03/2022 ISBN: 9780241314432 Category:

Moon Witch, Spider King

Marlon James

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication Date: 03/03/2022 ISBN: 9780241314432 Category:
Hardback

£20.00

Quantity:

Description

THE SECOND NOVEL IN THE REVOLUTIONARY DARK STAR TRILOGY IS HERE!

Booker Prize-winner Marlon James once again draws on a rich tradition of African mythology and fantasy to imagine a mythic world, a lost child, a 177-year-old witch and a mystery with many answers . . .

*Perfect for fans of Pratchett, George R. R. Martin and Octavia Butler*

‘Even more gripping and inventive than its predecessor . . . like Tolkien on ayahuasca’ Observer

*****

Part adventure, part chronicle of an indomitable woman – the witch Sogolon – who bows to no man, this is an unforgettable exploration of power, personality, and the places where they overlap, set in a world at once ancient and startlingly modern.

In the words of Neil Gaiman, James has created ‘a fantasy world as well-realized as anything Tolkien made, with language as powerful as Angela Carter’s’.

Chronicling the same events but telling a very different story – who will you believe? Read THE DARK STAR TRILOGY in any order! Book one, BLACK LEOPARD, RED WOLF, is available now.

*****

‘Moving, vivid, and thought-provoking . . . brilliant’ Buzzfeed

‘James masterfully flips the first instalment on its head . . . [A] titanic story of empire, adventure and power’ Esquire

‘Told with James’ inimitable linguistic verve . . . Riotous, ultraviolent, dazzlingly inventive’ Literary Hub

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible