Publication Date: 15/04/2021 ISBN: 9780008361389 Category:

Mirrorland

Carole Johnstone

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 15/04/2021 ISBN: 9780008361389 Category:
Hardback

£12.99


This book is scheduled to be published on 15/04/2021.
You can order it now and we'll ship it once available.
Quantity:

Description

‘Dark and devious…beautifully written and plotted with a watchmaker’s precision’ STEPHEN KING

‘A dark, twisty and richly atmospheric exploration of the power of imagination’ RUTH WARE

‘Atmospheric, tightly plotted and utterly gripping’ SARAH PINBOROUGH

‘An addictive slice of Gothic’ I PAPER

‘Told with thumping heart and extraordinary tenderness – as much a celebration of imagination and its escapism as an examination of trauma and its echoes’ KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE

‘Past and present collide in this vivid, ingenious and totally absorbing thriller. An amazing debut’ T.M. LOGAN, author of The Holiday and The Catch

The most dangerous stories are the ones we tell ourselves…

No. 36 Westeryk Road: an imposing flat-stone house on the outskirts of Edinburgh. A place of curving shadows and crumbling grandeur. But it’s what lies under the house that is extraordinary – Mirrorland. A vivid make-believe world that twin sisters Cat and El created as children. A place of escape, but from what?

Now in her thirties, Cat has turned her back on her past. But when she receives news that one sunny morning, El left harbour in her sailboat and never came back, she is forced to return to Westeryk Road; to re-enter a forgotten world of lies, betrayal and danger.

Because El had a plan. She’s left behind a treasure hunt that will unearth long-buried secrets. And to discover the truth, Cat must first confront the reality of her childhood – a childhood that wasn’t nearly as idyllic as she remembers…

‘The love child of Gillian Flynn and Stephen King. In Mirrorland nothing is as it appears and the kaleidoscope twists and turns will have you frantically turning the pages until you reach the gasp-out-loud ending’ GREER HENDRICKS, bestselling co-author of The Wife Between Us

READERS ARE FALLING IN LOVE WITH MIRRORLAND…

‘Dark, dazzling, full of surprises and perfectly executed’ Sheri K

‘An adult fairy tale, a domestic noir and a heartbreaker, all in one’ Rebecca W

‘Creepy as hell and absolutely brilliant’ Vikkie W

‘Poignant and compelling… What an imagination to have crafted such a story’ Carol C

‘A beautifully written story that holds you enthralled from first page to last’ Sarah M

‘This is a book that will keep you awake all night’ Maria P

‘Hugely compelling…I found the entire book officially unputdownable!’ Alexandra G

Publisher Review

'I loved Mirrorland. It's dark and devious, a neo-gothic featuring twin sisters and a deeply frightening old dark house. Beautifully written and plotted with a watchmaker's precision' STEPHEN KING 'An intricate, brilliant puzzle of a novel where past and present, fantasy and reality, are all clues that one twin must decipher to uncover the fate of her missing sister and the secrets of their shared past. It's Gone Girl meets Rebecca if Henry James had written it; atmospheric, tightly plotted and utterly gripping, a must read for fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn' SARAH PINBOROUGH 'An addictive slice of Gothic' i paper

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible