Publication Date: 01/09/2022 ISBN: 9780702319433 Category:

Meet Me in Mumbai

Sabina Khan

Publisher: Scholastic
Publication Date: 01/09/2022 ISBN: 9780702319433 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

A novel in two acts – told eighteen years apart – gives
voice to both mother (Ayesha) and daughter (Mira) after an unplanned
teen pregnancy led Ayesha to place Mira up for adoption.

Coming to the US to study, Ayesha is swept up in a whirlwind romance
with Suresh – an Indian boy who reminds her of home.
Mere months away from starting university, she falls pregnant and
finds herself alone. She makes the difficult decision to hide her
pregnancy and put her daughter up for adoption, before returning
to India.

Years later, seventeen-year-old Mira Fuller-Jensen has had a comfortable
childhood but has never felt quite like she fit in their
majority white community. All she knows is that her mums adopted
her when she was born and that her biological mother was a student
who went back to India. When she comes across letters addressed
to her from her birth mother, she sees a way to finally capture
that feeling of belonging.

Her mother writes that if Mira can forgive her for having to give
her up, she should find a way to travel to India for her eighteenth
birthday and meet her. Mira knows she’ll always regret it
if she doesn’t go. But is she actually ready for what she will learn?

Perfect for fans of Sabina Khan’s other books Zara Hossain
is Here and The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali

Deals with relatable teen issues and portrays the intersection
of teen pregnancy with Muslim and Indian culture

Compelling dual perspectives – Ayesha is brave and loving,
Mira is curious but lost and both make engaging narrators

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible