Publication Date: 05/09/2019 ISBN: 9780241351390 Category:

Max Kowalski Didn’t Mean It

Susie Day

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
Publication Date: 05/09/2019 ISBN: 9780241351390 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£6.99

Quantity:

Description

‘A beautifully written emotional story to make you laugh and cry’ – Jacqueline Wilson

The problem with Wales, he thought, was that it was too far away.
But that was the point. To leave Southend behind. To get so far that no one would think to look for them there.

Max wants to be just like his dad – fun, loud and strong.
Instead, he always seems to be accidentally getting into fights and breaking things.

But when his dad starts bringing home mysterious boxes, even more mysterious wads of cash starts turning up.

Then Dad disappears. And it’s up to Max to look after his sisters until he comes home.

When they run away to a remote village in Wales, he’s convinced that no one will find them.

He’s Max Kowalski. Of course he can look after three kids with no grownups around!

Although, he can’t stop thinking about where Dad really went. And the whispers of a golden dragon, asleep under the Welsh mountains…

A funny and exquisitely written story, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Ross Welford.

Publisher Review

A beautifully written story to make you laugh and cry * Jacqueline Wilson * Utterly lovely . . . Enid Blyton meets Jacqueline Wilson meets Jenny Nimmo, with all the humour and warmth you'd expect in a Susie Day novel * Sally Nicholls, author of Things a Bright Girl Can Do * If Jacqueline Wilson ganged up with Alan Garner and remixed A Monster Calls, with dragons. Powerful and deep. * Louie Stowell, author of The Dragon in the Library * "Wonderfully diverse and effortlessly entertaining, Susie's books are a must for all school libraries" * BOOKLOVER JO, BLOGGER AND LIBRARIAN *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible