Special
Price
Publication Date: 13/06/2017 ISBN: 9781409158387 Category:

Magpie Murders

Anthony Horowitz

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication Date: 13/06/2017 ISBN: 9781409158387 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99 £7.64

Quantity:

Description

‘Want to read a great whodunnit? Anthony Horowitz has one for you: MAGPIE MURDERS. It’s as good as an Agatha Christie. Better, in some ways. Cleverer.’ Stephen King

‘The finest crime novel of the year’ Daily Mail

*****

Seven for a mystery that needs to be solved . . .
Editor Susan Ryland has worked with bestselling crime writer Alan Conway for years. Readers love his detective, Atticus Pund, a celebrated solver of crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s.
But Conway’s latest tale of murder at Pye Hall is not quite what it seems. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but hidden in the pages of the manuscript lies another story: a tale written between the very words on the page, telling of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition and murder.
From the creator of Midsomer Murders comes a fiendish mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot.*****

Praise for Magpie Murders – the gripping Sunday Times bestselling crime thriller:
‘Ingenious’ Sunday Times

‘Thrilling and compelling with a stunning twist’ Daily Mail

‘A stylish thriller’ Sunday Mirror

‘A cunning reinvention of the thriller’ Mail on Sunday

Publisher Review

Horowitz is a superb pasticheur. * Guardian * A highly enjoyable twist on the classic whodunnit * Metro * We loved this Agatha Christie-esque crime novel. A fiendish mystery within a mystery that will have you hooked from page one * Good Housekeeping * Anthony Horowitz’s new novel is at once a brilliant pastiche of the English village mystery and a hugely enjoyable tale of avarice and skulduggery in the world of publishing . . . a compendium of dark delights * Irish Times * Although at first glance Horowitz’s latest offering appears to be a classic whodunit novel, it will almost certainly prove to be unlike anything you’ve ever read before, and will have you mulling over its various intrigues in between sittings. * Scotsman * Putting two books in one with their plots running side by side makes Magpie Murders difficult to put down and Horowitz fans will thoroughly enjoy a cracking good read * Daily Express * Brilliant. Really, really brilliant. I loved it. * Sophie Hannah, author of The Monogram Murders * A stylish, multi-layered thriller – playful, ingenious and wonderfully entertaining * Sunday Mirror * Superbly written, with great suspects, a perfect period feel and a cracking reveal at the end * Spectator * A cunning re-invention of the thriller formula — Thriller of the Week * Mail on Sunday * An ingenious novel-within-a-novel whodunit about the death of a crime writer . . . Part crime novel, part pastiche, this magnificent piece of crime fiction plays with the genre while also taking it seriously * Sunday Times * Want to read a great whodunnit? Anthony Horowitz has one for you: MAGPIE MURDERS. It’s as good as an Agatha Christie. Better, in some ways. Cleverer. * Stephen King *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible