Publication Date: 24/08/2006 ISBN: 9780340840320 Category:

Little Face

Sophie Hannah

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date: 24/08/2006 ISBN: 9780340840320 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

One of the Sunday Times 100 Best Crime Novels and Thrillers Since 1945

The first extraordinary psychological suspense thriller from internationally bestselling author Sophie Hannah. Not to be missed for readers of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins

‘Terrifying’ Scotsman
‘Ingenious’ Sunday Times

It’s every mother’s nightmare . . .

She’s only been gone two hours.

Her husband David was meant to be looking after their two-week-old daughter. But when Alice Fancourt walks into the nursery, her terrifying ordeal begins, for Alice insists the baby in the cot is a stranger she’s never seen before.

With an increasingly hostile and menacing David swearing she must either be mad or lying, how can Alice make the police believe her before it’s too late?

Publisher Review

Sophie Hannah is an award-winning poet and short story writer, and for this, her first novel, she has come up with a chilling thriller . . . I was left thinking about the book for days * Guardian * A gripping psychological thriller * Independent on Sunday * Intriguing. Hannah's depiction of relationships tested to the limit by domestic tragedy is impressive -- Simon Shaw * Mail on Sunday * A suspensful and psychological thriller, the plot twists and turns right up until the very last * Heat * Hannah's whodunit milks a classic formula with subversive results. This missing-baby tale chimes with very modern anxieties. Custody issues lie at the heart of the resolution, and the increasingly perverse relationship between Alice and David is grounded in recognisable reality that serves only to make our flesh crawl more -- Emma Hagestadt * Independent * Women in peril flit through the pages of traditional Gothic fiction, murmuring 'Had I but known!' as they fall for the wrong man, open the wrong door or apply for the wrong job. Sophie Hannah takes the trusty formula in both hands, gives it a vigorous shake and uses it to produce something fascinating and original in her novel. Beautifully written the novel is outstandingly chilling - terror lurks in the half understood and in anticipation. Little Face is a hugely promising debut. Sophie Hannah is an author to watch -- Andrew Taylor * Spectator * Hannah adapts to crime fiction with arresting aplomb: her characters are vivid, the novel's challenging double narrative is handled with flair, and its denouement is ingenious * The Sunday Times * The author is a poet by trade and she brings a wealth of psychological and literary subtlety to bear in this impressive novel. Smart and disarmingly unnerving * Daily Mail * Chilling and completely gripping - I stayed up half the night to finish it. * Marie Claire * This may well turn out to be the detective novel of the year . . . A terrifying mystery of manipulation, counter-manipulation and, finally, astounding revelation - it's a haunting story told with bewitching skill. * Scotsman * Quite brilliant - I was extremely impressed * The Times *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible