Publication Date: 09/06/2022 ISBN: 9781472274533 Category:

Light in the Darkness

Professor Heino Falcke, Joerg Roemer

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Publication Date: 09/06/2022 ISBN: 9781472274533 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£10.99


This book is scheduled to be published on 09/06/2022.
You can order it now and we'll ship it once available.
Quantity:

Description

As featured in THE EDGE OF ALL WE KNOW – the new Netflix documentary about Black Holes

For readers of Stephen Hawking, a fascinating account of the universe from the perspective of world-leading astrophysicist Heino Falcke, who took the first ever picture of a black hole.

10th April 2019: a global sensation. Heino Falcke, a man “working at the boundaries of his discipline and therefore at the limits of the universe” had used a network of telescopes spanning the entire planet to take the first picture of a black hole.

Light in the Darkness examines how mankind has always looked to the skies, mapping the journey from millennia ago when we turned our gaze to the heavens, to modern astrophysics. Heino Falcke and Jorg Romer entertainingly and compellingly chart the breakthrough research of Falcke’s team, an unprecedented global community of international colleagues developing a telescope complex enough to look directly into a black hole – a hole where light vanishes, and time stops.

What does this development mean? Is this the beginning of a new physics? What can we learn from this about God, the world, and ourselves? For Falcke, astrophysics and metaphysics, science and faith, do not exclude one another. Black Hole is both a plea for curiosity and humility; it’s interested in both what we know, and the mysteries that remain unsolved.

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible