Publication Date: 14/01/2021 ISBN: 9781787332447 Category:

Life Sentences

Billy O'Callaghan

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publication Date: 14/01/2021 ISBN: 9781787332447 Category:
Hardback

£14.99

Quantity:

Description

*THE #3 IRISH BESTSELLER*
*A SINEAD & RICK ‘MUST READS’ PICK*

An unforgettable tale of love, abandonment, hunger and redemption, from a rising star of Irish fiction

‘O’Callaghan is one of our finest writers . . . and this is his best work yet’ JOHN BANVILLE

*****

At just sixteen, Nancy leaves the small island of Cape Clear for the mainland, the only member of her family to survive the effects of the Great Famine. Finding work in a grand house on the edge of Cork City, she is irrepressibly drawn to the charismatic gardener Michael Egan, sparking a love affair and a devastating chain of events that continues to unfold over three generations. Spanning more than a century, Life Sentences is the unforgettable journey of a family hungry for redemption, and determined against all odds to be free.

This sweeping story of one family’s fight for survival goes on making the heart lurch long after the final page, and confirms Billy O’Callaghan as one of the finest living Irish writers.

*****

‘A lovely, piercing book’ SEBASTIAN BARRY

‘Stops you in your tracks so you can savour its utter beauty’ ANNE GRIFFIN

‘Momentous and epic storytelling’ BERNARD MACLAVERTY

‘So good and true it feels almost magical’ SADIE JONES

‘Eminently readable . . . My book of the year so far’ RYAN TUBRIDY

Publisher Review

A book that stops you in your tracks so you can savour its utter beauty, Life Sentences is a tale of hardship, love, loss, cruelty and kindness. Three lifetimes in three compelling voices. O'Callaghan is amongst the finest storytellers and wordsmiths in Ireland today. -- Anne Griffin Billy O'Callaghan's writing is so good and true it feels almost magical; Life Sentences is a beautiful book, a small epic, a joy. -- Sadie Jones Billy O'Callaghan's Life Sentences is a superb and moving novel... O'Callaghan is one of our finest writers, in the tradition of John McGahern and Brian Friel, and this is his best work yet. -- John Banville * Sunday Independent *Books of the Year* * Momentous and epic storytelling. -- Bernard MacLaverty

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible