Publication Date: 28/10/2021 ISBN: 9781405936705 Category:

Island Reich

Jack Grimwood

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication Date: 28/10/2021 ISBN: 9781405936705 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99


This book is scheduled to be published on 28/10/2021.
You can order it now and we'll ship it once available.
Quantity:

Description

The rich, atmospheric WWII thriller from the award-winning author of Moskva and Nightfall Berlin, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow’s BLACKOUT

‘Intricately plotted, rip-roaring World War Two adventure – proper heroes, proper villains, royal intrigue and grounded in real history’ IAN RANKIN
_________

July, 1940. The Nazis launch their invasion of Britain – starting with the Channel Islands . . .

And soldier turned safecracker Bill O’Hagan gets an offer: hang for his crimes, or serve his country.

The mission – land on occupied Alderney, impersonate a local, steal the invasion plans, escape. He almost believes they’re not lying to him.

In Portugal, the former King, Edward, Duke of Windsor, receives an altogether different proposal from Germany: ease the invasion and he’ll get his throne back. But Edward will not readily betray his country . . .

An embittered former king. An unreformed thief.
And a secret upon which the fates of nations lie . . .
_________

‘Fact and fiction merge in a rip-roaring yarn that is totally credible. Excellent’ SUN

‘Triumphant . . . The synthesis of real and fictitious characters is handled with panache by the talented Grimwood’ FINANCIAL TIMES

‘Top notch . . . the suspense never wavers’ CRIMETIME

‘Grimwood matches Robert Harris, Joseph Kanon, Ken Follett and John le Carre thrill for thrill in this breath-taking WWII story of atmospheric suspense, daring espionage and political intrigue’ GLASGOW LIFE

‘Highly entertaining . . . There are complications, twists and turns of plot in abundance. Every bit as credible or satisfying as James Bond’ SCOTSMAN

Publisher Review

Intricately plotted, rip-roaring World War Two adventure - proper heroes, proper villains, royal intrigue and grounded in real history -- Ian Rankin * - * Matches Robert Harris, Joseph Kanon, Ken Follett and John le Carre thrill for thrill in this breath-taking WWII story of atmospheric suspense, daring espionage and political intrigue, set in the tense depths of Britain's Darkest Hour * What's On Glasgow * Triumphant... The synthesis of real and fictitious characters is handled with panache by the talented Grimwood * Financial Times * Top-notch . . . the suspense never wavers * Crimetime * Highly entertaining . . . The plot is splendidly complicated. Like most good adventure novels set in recognizable history, Grimwood offers readers an enticing "what if?" * Scotsman * Fact and fiction merge in a rip-roaring yarn. Excellent * Sun * Praise for Jack Grimwood * - * A fine book . . . for those who enjoy vintage le Carre -- Ian Rankin * - * Grimwood is a damned fine writer * Independent * The new le Carre . . . an absolutely brilliant page turner . . . if you love thrillers, Jack Grimwood is a name you need to remember * BBC Radio 2 The Sara Cox Show * Spring's best thriller * Observer * A powerful, addictive, twisty tale where no-one can be trusted -- David Young, author of Stasi Child * - * 'Note-perfect, multi-layered, rugged as a T-34 tank. Grimwood is about to become your new favourite thriller writer * Independent * The writing is elegant, the dialogue razor sharp, the characters drawn economically but effectively, and the action is unrelenting * SciFi Now * The superior spy thriller of the year. Le Carre fans will be delighted * - * A compulsive and supremely intelligent thriller from a master stylist * - * An intriguing thriller * Literary Review * Mesmerising, surefooted, vividly realised . . . something special in the arena of international thrillers * Financial Times * Even better than Child 44 . . . A blizzard of exciting set pieces, superbly realized * Daily Telegraph * An extraordinarily atmospheric and immersive read ... escapism at its best * Good Housekeeping * So atmospheric, so elegantly written . . . like Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch, or like early le Carre. I really recommend it. I just disappeared into it totally -- Marian Keyes * - * The thriller of the summer ... Grimwood raises the stakes in this dark, twisty tale * iPaper * Fact and fiction merge in what they used to call a rip-roaring yarn that is totally credible. Excellent. * The Sun *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible