Publication Date: 17/06/2021 ISBN: 9781787633964 Category:

In the Wars

Dr Waheed Arian

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
Publication Date: 17/06/2021 ISBN: 9781787633964 Category:
Hardback

£20.00

Quantity:

Description

‘This book is a gift, a dazzling testimony to the extraordinary contributions that refugees make to the host communities that welcome them.’ KHALED HOSSEINI, author of The Kite Runner

‘A thrilling and absorbing read from first to last. What a life and what an inspiration.’ STEPHEN FRY

WINNER OF:
UNESCO’s Global Hero Award
Who Cares Wins Best Doctor Award
The Times’s Man of the Year Award
__________

Born in war-torn Afghanistan, Waheed Arian’s first memories are of bombs. His first-hand experience of the power of medicine inspired him to dedicate his life to healing others. But how does a boy with nothing hope to become a doctor?

Fleeing the conflict with his family, he spent much of his childhood in refugee camps in Pakistan, living sometimes ten to a room without basic sanitation or access to education. Waheed largely taught himself, from textbooks bought from street-sellers, and learned English from the BBC World Service. Smuggled to the UK at fifteen with just a hundred dollars in his pocket, he found a job in a shop. He was advised to set his sights on becoming a taxi driver. But the boy from Kabul had bigger ambitions.

Working through PTSD and anxiety, he studied all hours to achieve his vocation. He was accepted to read medicine at Cambridge University, Imperial College and Harvard, and went on to become a doctor in the NHS, currently in A&E on the Covid frontline. But he wanted to do more. In 2015 he founded Arian Teleheal, a pioneering global charity that connects doctors in war zones and low-resource countries with their counterparts in the US, UK, Europe and Australia. Together, learning from each other, they save and change lives – the lives of millions of people just like Waheed.

For readers of Educated and War Doctor, this is the extraordinary memoir of a boy who recognized the power of education and dreamed about helping others. It is a tale of courage, ambition and unwavering resilience in the face of all the challenges that life can throw in your way.
__________

‘A powerful, heart-warming account… I was moved and delighted.’ JOHN SIMPSON

‘Immensely powerful and moving… Dr Arian’s journey, resilience and heart are truly remarkable.’ DR RACHEL CLARKE

‘One of the most incredible life stories you will ever hear.’ JAMES O’BRIEN

‘A story of astonishing resilience. An incredible story about an incredible man.’ DAVID BECKHAM

Publisher Review

'A thrilling and absorbing read from first to last. What a life and what an inspiration.' * STEPHEN FRY * 'Anyone who reads Dr Arian's remarkable memoir will put it down inspired by the immense power and resilience of the human will. Spanning from war-wracked Kabul to the lecture halls of Cambridge, Dr Arian tells a riveting story of loss, exile, and rebirth. At a time when displacement has become increasingly politicized, this book is a gift, a dazzling testimony to the extraordinary contributions that refugees make to the host communities that welcome them.' * KHALED HOSSEINI * 'A phenomenal story of a boy's realisation that saving others was the way to help himself. From war in Afghanistan to refugee camps and escaping to Britain, he understood that by educating himself he could benefit the world.' -- Alice Thompson * THE TIMES * 'A powerful, heart-warming account of a young man's escape from war and deprivation to extraordinary success in serving the people of his new country. his is a book which thoroughly deserves to be read and celebrated. I was moved and delighted by it.' * JOHN SIMPSON * An immensely powerful and moving account of a child who endured war, trauma, displacement and racism, yet who never faltered in his passion to help others through becoming a doctor. Dr Arian's journey, resilience and heart are truly remarkable. * DR RACHEL CLARKE *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible