Publication Date: 22/08/2017 ISBN: 9781472240743 Category:

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death – The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller

Maggie O'Farrell

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Publication Date: 22/08/2017 ISBN: 9781472240743 Category:
Hardback

£18.99

Quantity:

Mr B's review

The only word I could muster after reading this was incredible. From the very first page I was captivated by O’Farrell’s lyrical writing, and drawn in by the dark stories from her life. Bravery, luck and vulnerability are perfectly balanced as we are taken through, via parts of the body, all the times Maggie has defied death and come out the other side. I found myself contemplating my existence throughout, and being astounded by the remarkable, and fragile, human body. – Amy

Description

THE SUNDAY TIMES NO. 1 BESTSELLER, AND BOOK OF THE YEAR IN THE SUNDAY TIMES, THE TIMES, GUARDIAN, IRISH TIMES, OBSERVER, RED and THE TELEGRAPH.

Longlisted for The Wellcome Book Prize

I AM, I AM, I AM is a memoir with a difference – the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman’s life in near-death experiences. Insightful, inspirational, intelligent, it is a book to be read at a sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life’s fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. Shocking, electric, unforgettable, this is the extraordinary memoir from Costa Novel-Award winner and Sunday Times bestselling author Maggie O’Farrell. It is a book to make you question yourself. What would you do if your life was in danger, and what would you stand to lose?

I AM, I AM, I AM will speak to readers who loved Cheryl Strayed’s WILD or Max Porter’s GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS.

Publisher Review

I have never read a book about death that has made me feel so alive. A heart-stopping, addictive read * Tracy Chevalier * A beautiful, strangely reassuring read * The i * I have never read a book about death that has made me feel so alive. Beautifully observed, exquisitely written, Maggie’s memoir is a heart-stopping, addictive read. She has raised the bar on memoir to a height few others will reach — Tracy Chevalier A remarkable and life-affirming autobiography * Good Housekeeping * O’Farrell’s emotional acuity makes it a powerful account of a determined and thoughtful life. Her fiction is always a masterclass in empathy and the same is true of I Am, I Am, I Am which lingers even longer in the memory for being drawn from real life. * Daily Express * I can count on one hand the books that made me cry, and still have two fingers spare. I Am, I Am, I Am is one of them * Irish Times * One of the most life affirming reads of the summer * Irish Independent * Exceptionally accomplished and emotionally sophisticated * Scotsman * O’Farrell has a compelling and arresting writing style that fills in a scene quickly and engagingly, to great dramatic and narrative effect * New Statesman * A profoundly affecting, powerful and life-affirming book. If you only read one memoir this year, make it O’Farrell’s * Sunday Express * It’s a prayer for perspective that reminds readers to see every dodged bullet as the gift of new life and a reminder not to sweat the small stuff * Daily Mail * A mesmerising read * The Sunday Times * [An] extraordinary memoir… uncomfortable and compelling… fluent, poised, packed with colourful details * Observer * Ingenious and original… A rich celebration of every breath O’Farrell’s taken * Independent * She is a breathtakingly good writer, and brings all her elegance and poise as a novelist to the story of her own life * Guardian * The final chapter is one of the boldest and most terrifying things I have read this year * Scotsman * Quite simply astonishing… reminds the reader of the fierce joy of being alive. To my mind, I AM, I AM, I AM is Maggie O’Farrell’s greatest work to date * Louise O’Neill * By turns chilling, terrifying, deeply moving, funny, recognisable, wild, simple, complicated. A rich celebration — Rachel Joyce It is absolutely, in every possible sense of the word, brilliant. It shines with wit and candour and insight. It is spectacularly moving, funny, impeccably controlled, artful and sincere. It’s a gift — Max Porter Extraordinary. A beautiful testament to courage and grace under fire without an ounce of self-pity — Kate Mosse I adored every minute. A triumph — Joanna Cannon I have never read a book about death that has made me feel so alive. A heart-stopping, addictive read — Tracy Chevalier Maggie O’Farrell is a highly accomplished author with seven novels to her name but she achieves something altogether more powerful and direct in this astonishing memoir… Each chapter is an accomplished piece of memoir writing in its own right. The cumulative effect is extraordinary and I felt my understanding of what it means to be a human and a mother grew. Where other writers may be playing with paper, O’Farrell takes up a bow and arrow and aims right at the human heart — Cathy Rentzenbrink * The Times *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible