Publication Date: 06/02/2014 ISBN: 9780241144671 Category:

How to Get Filthy Rich In Rising Asia

Mohsin Hamid

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publication Date: 06/02/2014 ISBN: 9780241144671 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

A sharp, fresh satire for the ruthless modern world – for fans of Dave Eggers, Ben Lerner and Gary Shtenygart

‘Mohsin Hamid is one of the best writers in the world, period. Only a master could have written this propulsive tale of a striver living on the knife’s edge, a noir Horatio Alger story for our frenetic, violent times’ Ben Fountain

This book is a self-help book. Its objective, as it says on the cover, is to show you how to get filthy rich in rising Asia. And to do that it has to find you, huddled, shivering, on the packed earth under your mother’s cot one cold, dewy morning. Your anguish is the anguish of a boy whose chocolate has been thrown away, whose remote controls are out of batteries, whose scooter is busted, whose new sneakers have been stolen. This is all the more remarkable since you’ve never in your life seen any of these things . . .

‘Even more intriguing, compelling and moving than The Reluctant Fundamentalist. A marvellous book’ Philip Pullman

‘Brilliantly structured, deeply felt [and] written with the confidence and bravura of a man born to write. Hamid is at the peak of his considerable powers here, and delivers a tightly paced, preternaturally wise book about a thoroughly likable, thoroughly troubled striver in the messiest, most chaotic ring of global economy. Completely unforgettable’ Dave Eggers, author of The Circle

Publisher Review

Dazzling, addictive, tremendous. A writer at the height of his powers with a hell of a story to tell Guardian Beautifully conceived and exquisitely executed Sunday Times The new voice of a changing continent. A writer at the top of his game Metro No story could be more of our time than this one. Conceptually brilliant and truly empathic -- Nell Freudenberger Metro An ultra-intelligent and knowing account of life in the developing world. Simply brilliant Daily Mail Isn't this the definition of great fiction, that even when it begins with a character ... who's nothing like you, by the end you are convinced that it really is about you? That's a kind of miracle Salon Even more intriguing, compelling and moving than The Reluctant Fundamentalist. A marvellous book Philip Pullman A dazzling stylistic tour de force; a love story disguised as a self help parody freighted with sly social satire. As timely and timeless a novel as I've read in years -- Jay McInerney

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible