Publication Date: 11/08/2022 ISBN: 9781472157522 Category:

Housebreaking

Colleen Hubbard

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publication Date: 11/08/2022 ISBN: 9781472157522 Category:
Hardback

£16.99


This book is scheduled to be published on 11/08/2022.
You can order it now and we'll ship it once available.
Quantity:

Description

‘An unforgettable portrait of a young woman at war with the world and herself. Protagonist Del can be hard to like, but she remains easy to love. This is a brilliant and exciting debut’ – Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

‘Darkly funny and brimming with pathos . . . For fans of Elizabeth Strout, Ottessa Moshfegh . . . This is a humorous and life-affirming trip through the fraught, weird heart of America, exploring the granular details that make and break a life’ – Sharlene Teo, award-winning author of Ponti

Following a long-standing feud and looking to settle the score, a woman decides to dismantle her home – alone and by hand – and move it across a frozen pond during a harsh New England winter in this mesmerizing debut.

Home is certainly not where Del’s heart is. After a local scandal led to her parents’ divorce and the rest of her family turned their backs on her, Del left her small town and cut off contact.

Now, with both of her parents gone, a chance has arrived for Del to retaliate.

Her uncle wants the one thing Del inherited: the family home.

Instead of handing the place over, and with no other resources at her disposal, Del decides she will tear the place apart herself – piece by piece.

But Del will soon discover, the task stirs up more than just old memories as relatives-each in their own state of unravelling – come knocking on her door.

This spare, strange, magical book is a story not only about the powerlessness and hurt that run through a family but also about the moments when brokenness can offer us the rare chance to start again.

Publisher Review

'An unforgettable portrait of a young woman at war with the world and herself. Protagonist Del can be hard to like, but she remains easy to love. This is a brilliant and exciting debut' * Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves * 'A wry and unexpectedly tender story of finding the family we need when we least expect it. Perfect for fans of Olive Kitteridge and The Good House' * Eleanor Brown, New York Times bestselling author of The Weird Sisters * 'Darkly funny and brimming with pathos . . . For fans of Elizabeth Strout, Ottessa Moshfegh . . .This is a humorous and life-affirming trip through the fraught, weird heart of America, exploring the granular details that make and break a life' * Sharlene Teo, award-winning author of Ponti * 'Deliciously witty and deeply poignant. Sharp, surprising and memorable, this is a book I know I'll keep mulling over for a long, long time' * Emma Hooper, bestselling author of Etta and Otto and Russell and James * 'A keenly observed and achingly real story of grief and loss and the extraordinary lengths one woman goes to make sense of her past and discover who she might become' * Dana Reinhardt, author of Tomorrow There Will Be Sun * 'An unforgettable portrait of a young woman at war with the world and herself. Protagonist Del can be hard to like, but she remains easy to love. This is a brilliant and exciting debut' * Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible