Publication Date: 07/02/2019 ISBN: 9781848127753 Category:

Hotel Flamingo

Alex Milway

Publisher: Templar Publishing
Publication Date: 07/02/2019 ISBN: 9781848127753 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£6.99

Quantity:

Description

An enchanting new series for fans of OTTOLINE, CLAUDE and VIOLET AND THE PEARL OF THE ORIENT

‘Truly heartwarming and uplifting. I’d love to book a room there myself’ Philip Ardagh

‘Hotel Flamingo is bursting with charm, friendship and fabulous characters!’ Laura Ellen Anderson

‘Five stars for Hotel Flamingo!’ Harriet Whitehorn

‘A delightfully sunny new series’ Polly Faber

‘Crammed full of characterful animal illustrations with accents of zinging pink, this flamboyant early chapter book is a splendid, unpreachy testament to the power of hard work’ Guardian

When young Anna inherits a dilapidated once-grand hotel from her Great Aunt Mathilde, she’s determined to restore it to its former glory. But this is no ordinary hotel – all of her staff and guests are animals! Anna soon rises to the challenge. Whether it’s a flamingo, a penguin or a hippo knocking at the door, Anna is ready to welcome them all – with the help of her trusty sidekicks T Bear the doorman, Squeak the friendly elevator mouse, and Lemmy the lemur receptionist … As she soon finds out, though, running an animal hotel is no easy task. Can Anna make Hotel Flamingo a success once more?

Publisher Review

It's near-impossible to chose a favourite character in Alex Milway's utterly charming Hotel Flamingo; a marvellous menagerie, where the chef is a pig, the handyman a giraffe and where cockroaches are welcome paying guests. The new girl owner Anna's bid to return the hotel to its former glory and to outshine the nearby Glitz, is a tale of co-operation, ingenuity and fun, all brought to life in Milway's pitch-perfect words and pictures. Funny though it is -- and it's certainly that -- it's also truly heartwarming and uplifting. I'd love to book a room there myself. -- Philip Ardagh I really enjoyed reading this book * Mojo Mums * This is a delightful, fanciful tale that would make for a cute bedtime read for younger children and a perfect independent book for older littles * Queens of Geekdom * What a fantastic little book this is! Having inherited 'the sunniest hotel in town', Anna is determined to make it a success and shows that hard work and effort pay off. She is a delightful character, inspiring loyalty and friendship in others and welcoming all to her hotel * North Somerset Teachers Book Award * This flamboyant early chapter book is a splendid, unpreachy testament to the power of hard work. * Guardian * 'A gentle hug of a book that's perfect for young boys and girls.' * Booktrust Great Reads Guide 2019 * Hotel Flamingo is the perfect book for the young. With notions of inclusivity, ideas of never giving up and the belief of working together has made this one of our current favourite reads. We're off now to pick up the next one in the series, Hotel Flamingo : Holiday Heatwave! -- Vanessa * Babyccino Kids *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible