Publication Date: 29/09/2022 ISBN: 9781529061673 Category:

Hare House

Sally Hinchcliffe

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication Date: 29/09/2022 ISBN: 9781529061673 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

‘Deliciously chilly’ – Guardian
‘Humming with suppressed hysteria and madness’ – The Times
‘Wonderfully evocative’ – Heat

Hare House is not its real name, of course. I have, if you will forgive me, kept names to a minimum here, for reasons that will become understandable . . .

In the first brisk days of autumn, a woman arrives in Scotland having left her job at an all-girls school in London in mysterious circumstances. Moving into a cottage on the remote estate of Hare House, she begins to explore her new home. But among the tiny roads, wild moorland, and scattered houses, something more sinister lurks: local tales of witchcraft, clay figures and young men sent mad.

Striking up a friendship with her landlord and his younger sister, she begins to suspect that all might not be quite as it seems at Hare House. And as autumn turns to winter, and a heavy snowfall traps the inhabitants of the estate within its walls, tensions rise to fever pitch.

Sally Hinchcliffe’s Hare House is a modern-day witch story, perfect for fans of Pine and The Loney.

‘A beautiful, slow burn of a novel, eerie and shimmering in equal measure’ – Mary Paulson-Ellis

Publisher Review

A beautiful, slow burn of a novel, eerie and shimmering in equal measure. The bewitching prose brilliantly evokes the bleak glories of a remote Scottish landscape, while the subtle shifts of plot and perspective lure the reader towards an unsettling denouement where nothing is quite what it seems. A dark uncanny read and all the more satisfying for that -- Mary Paulson-Ellis, author of The Other Mrs Walker and Emily Noble's Disgrace Eerie and subtle . . . This deliciously chilly tale dodges the expected outcome and maintains a delicate balance between psychology and witchcraft right to its disturbing end * Guardian * A tale humming with suppressed hysteria and madness * The Saturday Times * The atmosphere of sickly oddness creeps up with wonderful control. Hinchcliffe has a superb sense for the slightly off detail . . . Hinchcliffe has crafted an exquisitely, horribly unreliable narrator. But if the character is not to be trusted, the author very much is: Hare House is a marvellously nasty piece of distinctly Scottish gothic * The Times * Dark and absorbing . . . A compelling chiller redolent of Zoe Heller's Notes on a Scandal, Hare House treads the treacherous line between the real and the supernatural with dexterity. It is also a beautiful, if sinister, evocation of the Dumfries and Galloway landscape -- Fiona Rintoul * The Herald * Wonderfully evocative * Heat * A deeply unsettling modern-day tale of witchcraft * Woman's Weekly * Hinchcliffe writes atmospherically . . . Fans of the supernatural will find much to enjoy in this eerie tale * Literary Review * Slightly gothic, it is a quietly eerie novel, beautifully written, one that keeps a reader alert * Belfast Telegraph *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible