Publication Date: 04/05/2017 ISBN: 9781785040207 Category:

Grit

Angela Duckworth

Publisher: Ebury Publishing
Publication Date: 04/05/2017 ISBN: 9781785040207 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99

Quantity:

Mr B's review

A battery of inspiration for anyone feeling they lack natural talent or for whom the chips never seem to fall right. It turns out that “grit” can get you through when luck and instinct have abandoned ship. Through the study of everyone from army cadets to competitive child spellers (not to mention her own experience of a father perpetually reinforcing her lack of genius) Duckworth reveals how far determination and the ability to bounce back can take you in life.   

Description

UNLOCK THE KEY TO SUCCESS WITH JP MORGAN’S BEST SUMMER READ OF 2018

In this must-read for anyone seeking to succeed, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth takes us on an eye-opening journey to discover the true qualities that lead to outstanding achievement. Winningly personal, insightful and powerful, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that – not talent or luck – makes all the difference.

‘Impressively fresh and original’ Susan Cain

Publisher Review

“GRIT is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart.” * Malcolm Gladwell * “Impressively fresh and original … GRIT scrubs away preconceptions about how far our potential can take us. And it solves the riddle of how those not likely to succeed in fact do. Buy this, send copies to your friends, and tell the world that there is, in fact, hope. We can all dazzle.” * Susan Cain, New York Times bestselling author * “At a time when our collective notion of success has shrunk to the point of being unrecognizable, Angela Duckworth arrives to restore it. With a mix of masterful storytelling and the latest science, she shows that perseverance and passion matter at least as much as talent and intelligence. And far from simply urging us to work harder for the sake of working harder, Grit offers a truly sane perspective: that true success comes when we devote ourselves to endeavors that give us joy and purpose.” * Arianna Huffington, bestselling author of Thrive * “This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success.” * Dan Heath, bestselling co-author of Made to Stick, Switch and Decisive * “Angela Duckworth has written a contemporary classic – a clarifying and deeply-researched book in the tradition of Stephen Covey and Carol Dweck. For anyone hoping to work smarter or live better, GRIT is an essential – and perhaps life-changing – read.” * Daniel H. Pink, author of Drive and To Sell is Human *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible