Publication Date: 23/06/2022 ISBN: 9781529125894 Category:

Godmersham Park

Gill Hornby

Publisher: Cornerstone
Publication Date: 23/06/2022 ISBN: 9781529125894 Category:
Hardback

£14.99

Quantity:

Description

FROM THE #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF MISS AUSTEN

‘So envious of anyone yet to read this. A triumph!’ Nigella Lawson
‘Utterly absorbing and illuminating. Written with a sure and stylish hand. Gill Hornby’s best book yet.’ Esther Freud
A masterly piece of storytelling’ Helena Kelly
__________________________

January 1804: Anne Sharpe arrives at Godmersham Park in Kent to take up the position of governess.

At thirty-one years old, she has no previous experience of either teaching or fine country houses. But her mother has died and she desperately needs an independent income if she is to survive.

For her new charge, twelve-year- old Fanny Austen, Anne’s arrival is all novelty and excitement.

But Anne is keenly aware that her new role is an awkward one: she is neither one of the servants nor one of the family, and to balance a position between the ‘upstairs’ and ‘downstairs’ members of the household is a diplomatic chess game. One wrong move may result in her instant dismissal.

She has just begun to settle into her position when dashing Henry Austen and his younger sister Jane come to stay.
Both take an immediate interest in the pretty, clever governess who quickly becomes drawn into the above stairs life of the Austen family.

Despite her best endeavours, Anne finds that she is beginning to fall in love. But has her survival at Godmersham Park just become a good deal more precarious?
__________________________

Praise for Miss Austen and Gill Hornby . . .

‘The perfect book to wrap yourself around on a dark night’ STYLIST
‘You can’t help feeling that Jane would have approved.’ OBSERVER
‘Celebrates unexamined lives, sisterhood and . . . kindness and loyalty’ SUNDAY TIMES
‘A deeply imagined and deeply moving novel’ KAREN JOY FOWLER
‘It won’t surprise me if this is one of the books of the year’ RTE
‘An ingenious and affecting embroidery on the fact of the author’s life’ SUNDAY MIRROR
‘Fans of Pride and Prejudice and Emma will enjoy this touching story’ SUNDAY EXPRESS
‘Extraordinary and heart-wrenching, Miss Austen transported me from page one’ LARA PRESCOTT
‘Tender and touching . . . Hornby movingly celebrates the fortitude of Cassandra’ DAILY MAIL
‘A moving, often funny novel. Richly imagined and spryly told’, MAIL ON SUNDAY
‘A wonderfully original, emotionally complex novel’ IRISH EXAMINER
‘[A] . . . subtle and delicate novel’ WOMAN & HOME

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible