Publication Date: 05/05/2022 ISBN: 9780702313677 Category:

Gay Club!

Simon James Green

Publisher: Scholastic
Publication Date: 05/05/2022 ISBN: 9780702313677 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

A landmark comedic novel about a group of queer teens
at their worst – and ultimately their best – from one of the UK’s
leading writers of LGBTQ+ teen fiction.
Barney’s a shoo-in for his school’s LGBTQ+ Society President
at the club’s next election. But when the vote is
opened up to the entire student body, the whole school starts paying
attention. How low will the candidates go to
win? Buckle up for some serious shade, scandals and sleazy
shenanigans. It isn’t long before it’s National Coming
Out Day – for everyone’s secrets!

But when the group faces an unexpected threat – and a big opportunity
– can the club members put politics aside and stand
united?

Simon James Green is the award-winning author of a number of
beloved LGBTQ+ YA novels, including Noah Can’t Even, Heartbreak
Boys and You’re the One That I Want.

Perfect for fans of Glee, Heartstopper, and
Boyfriend Material.

Praise for Gay Club!
“Gay Club! wears its activism with pride, and is packed
with drama, plot twists and politics.” – Dean Atta (The
Black Flamingo)

“Gay Club! holds up a mirror to the experiences of being
LGBTQ+; to the messiness, the humour, the hardships, and most
of all, to the love and celebration.” – Adiba Jaigirdar
(Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating)

“Funny, heartfelt, and angry in all the right ways, Gay Club!
is a love letter to the messiness of our big gay family,
and a manifesto for creating the change that the youngest
members of that family need so badly today. A triumphant call to
action.’ – LC Rosen (Camp and Jack of Hearts (and
other parts))

“One of the most hilarious, romantic writers
in the game right now.” – Becky Albertalli (Love, Simon)

“Quite possibly his best work yet. It left me crying with
laughter late into the night because I literally could
not put it down. Brilliantly controversial, so very witty, and
full of enough queer joy to make any heart burst. Truly outstanding
from start to finish – now I want to join the gay club too.”
– Calum McSwiggan (Eat, Gay, Love)

“Simon James Green has an impeccable ear for authentically funny
dialogue. This book will make you laugh the way your best
friend makes you laugh.’ – Ciara Smyth (The Falling
in Love Montage and Not My Problem)

‘Once again, Simon James Green has knocked it out of the park.
Gay Club! is Simon at his very very best.
Hilarious and heart-warming with a gorgeous cast of characters
and a beautiful message at its heart. I defy you to find a queerer
book in 2022. Sign me up to Gay Club immediately. Shut up and
take my money!’ – George Lester (Boy Queen)

‘Gay Club! is so smart and so funny, and full of characters
who are also smart and funny. It’s everything I want
from a book and from life. Everyone will love it! May
I suggest you all join Gay Club with utmost urgency.’ – Wibke Brueggemann
(Love is for Losers)

“Gay Club! cements Simon James Green’s position as the
master of LGBTQ Young adult fiction. No one today
writes with such heart and lightness of touch – an author whose
skill both intimidates and inspires his peers.” – William Hussey
(The Outrage)

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible