Publication Date: 22/09/2016 ISBN: 9781473621404 Category:

Gaudy Night

Dorothy L. Sayers

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date: 22/09/2016 ISBN: 9781473621404 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99

Quantity:

Description

The twelfth book in Dorothy L Sayers’ classic Lord Peter Wimsey series, introduced by actress Dame Harriet Mary Walter, DBE – a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie’s Poirot and Margery Allingham’s Campion Mysteries.

‘D. L. Sayers is one of the best detective story writers’ Daily Telegraph

Harriet Vane has never dared to return to her old Oxford college. Now, despite her scandalous life, she has been summoned back . . .

At first she thinks her worst fears have been fulfilled, as she encounters obscene graffiti, poison pen letters and a disgusting effigy when she arrives at sedate Shrewsbury College for the ‘Gaudy’ celebrations.

But soon, Harriet realises that she is not the only target of this murderous malice – and asks Lord Peter Wimsey to help.

‘She brought to the detective novel originality, intelligence, energy and wit.’ P. D. James

Publisher Review

I admire her novels ... she has great fertility of invention, ingenuity and a wonderful eye for detail - Ruth Rendell She combined literary prose with powerful suspense, and it takes a rare talent to achieve that. A truly great storyteller. - Minette Walters Dorothy L Sayers is one of the best detective story writers - Daily Telegraph

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible