Publication Date: 05/04/2018 ISBN: 9781472241726 Category:

Gather the Daughters

Jennie Melamed

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Publication Date: 05/04/2018 ISBN: 9781472241726 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

‘An exceptional debut’ Sunday Telegraph

‘Obsessed with The Handmaid’s Tale? This brilliant book is the one for you’ Stylist

‘An intriguing, gorgeously realised and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart’ Kate Hamer

On a small isolated island, there’s a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day take charge, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood.

But before that time comes, a ritual offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps, to roam the island, sleep on the beach and build camps in trees. To be free.

At the end of one of such summer, one of the younger girls sees something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home with a truth that could bring their island world to its knees.

‘A skilful novel full of suspense’ Guardian

‘It’s a richly envisioned world, the strange isolation of which Melamed is excellent at teasing out slowly’ Independent

Publisher Review

A chilling, vividly realised feminist novel that propels the reader into the dark heart of a cruelly repressive and sinister society * Daily Mail * At times harrowing in its depiction of cruelty, at other times joy-filled and buoyed by the spirit of liberated girlhood, this is an exhilarating, feminist cry-out, which I hope finds a wide readership * The Big Issue * Melamed's haunting and powerful debut blazes a fresh path in the tradition of classic dystopian works...a searing portrayal of a utopian society gone wrong...Melamed's prose is taut and precise. Her nuanced characters and honest examination of the crueler sides of human nature establish her as a formidable author in the vein of Shirley Jackson and Margaret Atwood * Publishers Weekly * A terrifying work of speculative fiction ... Melamed is a masterful writer, and she establishes a hauntingly vivid atmosphere....This is a haunting work in the spirit of The Handmaid's Tale-but Melamed more than holds her own. Fearsome, vivid, and raw * Kirkus Reviews * Gather The Daughters is extraordinary, powerful, and harrowing-and yet hopeful in its portrait of the human spirit and the endurance of love. This is a visceral book on all levels and it is haunting me still -- Julie Cohen Gather the Daughters is an always-compelling and sometimes-shocking read as the horrific secrets of the island are slowly revealed. I read it in one sleep-deprived sitting * Red Magazine * [A] dark, compelling debut... At a time when it feels as if women's rights around the world are being slowly eroded this absorbing novel is both gripping and to-the-bone chilling. Melamed is definitely a talent to watch. * Daily Express * Obsessed with The Handmaid's Tale? This brilliant book is the one for you * Stylist * An obvious comparison is Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, and Melamed is more than equal a writer. Her prose is exact, the premise chilling and her characters all too plausible * Daily Mail, top debuts of 2017 * An assured, lyrical and vivid debut * Irish Independent * A skilful novel full of suspense * Guardian * An exceptional debut * Sunday Telegraph * It's a richly envisioned world, the strange isolation of which Melamed is excellent at teasing out slowly * Independent * An intriguing, gorgeously realised and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart -- Kate Hamer

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible