Publication Date: 25/01/2018 ISBN: 9781409172024 Category:

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication Date: 25/01/2018 ISBN: 9781409172024 Category:
Hardback

£12.99

Out of stock

Description

READ THE MOST CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED THRILLER OF 2018:’You’ll never see your neighbours in the same light again’ OBSERVER
‘Beautifully written, frightening and absorbing’ THE TIMES
‘As intellectually stimulating as it is gripping *****’ DAILY TELEGRAPH
‘[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller’ – SUNDAY TIMES
‘Something we’ve not see before in contemporary crime fiction’ GUARDIAN
‘Takes you right into the heart of darkness’ MAIL ON SUNDAY
‘There’s a twist at the end that is worth waiting for’ INDEPENDENT
‘A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs’ WOMAN&HOME
‘If you liked WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN, try FEAR’ – BBC NEWS
‘This creepy tale of obsession will make you wonder ‘what would I do?’ SUNDAY MIRROR
‘A gripping tale of domestic terror’ IRISH TIMES
‘A must have new read’ DAILY EXPRESS

You’d die for your family. But would you kill for them?Family is everything. So what if yours was being terrorised by a neighbour – a man who doesn’t listen to reason, whose actions become more erratic and sinister with each passing day? And those you thought would help – the police, your lawyer – can’t help you.

You become afraid to leave your family at home alone. But there’s nothing more you can do to protect them.

Is there?

FEAR is the most original thriller of 2018 – for fans of LULLABY, THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL and THE GUILTY WIFE.************

What people are saying about FEAR:

‘I’m intrigued by Dirk Kurbjuweit’s novel FEAR, about a stalker living downstairs’ – LIONEL SHRIVER, THE OBSERVER

‘Brilliantly done to play on every parents’ deepest fears’ – FIONA BARTON, bestselling author of THE WIDOW

‘Thought-provoking, intelligent and genuinely chilling’ – ELIZABETH HAYNES, author of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER

‘A terrific, original thriller – I loved it’ JOANNE HARRIS

‘FEAR makes us sympathetic to violent revenge, accessories to murder’ – HERMAN KOCH, author of THE DINNER

‘I loved it. So rich and claustrophobic’ – RENEE KNIGHT, author of DISCLAIMER

‘The most original thriller of the year’ – NETGALLEY

‘Expertly constructed, highly entertaining and thought-provoking’ – Cloggie, Amazon reviewer

‘If you’re looking for a thriller with psychological insight, I highly recommend this one’ – Marjorie, Amazon reviewer

‘Not your usual thriller’ – Fiona, Amazon reviewer

————————-

FEAR is translated from the German by Imogen Taylor

Publisher Review

Highly original and chilling * BOOKRIOT.COM * The most original thriller of the year * NETGALLEY * FEAR is a smart, psychologically complex and morally acute fable decked out in the garb of an intricate thriller... [and] a wry, complex, at times disturbing survey of middle-class life * SYDNEY MORNING HERALD * Thought-provoking and intelligent, calling into question our own values when dealing with those on the fringes of society.. Genuinely chilling, and a compelling read * ELIZABETH HAYNES, bestselling author of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER * FEAR grips you from the get-go. A creeping, creepy and darkly-hued tale of family, fatherhood and failure, it is also a deliciously suspenseful thriller, an intelligent investigation into guilt and a superb slice of bourgeois domestic noir * STAV SHEREZ, author of A DARK REDEMPTION * A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs * WOMAN & HOME * I loved it. So rich and claustrophobic. An unsettling tale of merciless self-scrutiny * RENEE KNIGHT, Sunday Times bestselling author of DISCLAIMER * A must-have new read * DAILY EXPRESS * FEAR shifts our moral codes. It makes us sympathetic to violent revenge, accessories to murder. Do we want the victim to survive? No, we don't. Long after I had put this book down I still didn't. A great achievement * HERMAN KOCH, bestselling author of THE DINNER * This creepy tale of obsession will make you wonder 'what would I do?' * SUNDAY MIRROR * Addictive... There's a twist at the end that is worth waiting for * INDEPENDENT * Its layers of paranoia and memories are brilliantly done to play on every parents' deepest fears - including mine * FIONA BARTON, bestselling author of THE WIDOW * [An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller... A powerfully disturbing read * SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB * If you liked WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN, try FEAR by Dirk Kurbjuweit... Claustrophobic and unsettling * BBC NEWS * I'm intrigued by Dirk Kurbjuweit's novel FEAR, about a stalker living downstairs * LIONEL SHRIVER, Observer's Best Holiday Reads 2017 * Kurbjuweit takes you right into the heart of darkness * MAIL ON SUNDAY * Something we've not seen before in contemporary crime fiction * GUARDIAN * Beautifully written, frightening and absorbing * THE TIMES * Wonderfully sinister. . . You'll never see your neighbours in the same light again * THE OBSERVER * Five stars - as intellectually stimulating as it is gripping -- Jake Kerridge * DAILY TELEGRAPH * Praise for FEAR, the most original thriller of 2018 for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW by A.J. Finn, LULLABY by Leila Slimani and ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL by Sarah Vaughan: A terrific, original thriller, and a marvellous exploration of the psychology of menace - I loved it * JOANNE HARRIS *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible