Publication Date: 06/09/2018 ISBN: 9781409172031 Category:

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication Date: 06/09/2018 ISBN: 9781409172031 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

The Guardian, Daily Telegraph and Irish Times Book of the Year.
‘Something we’ve not seen before in contemporary crime fiction’ GUARDIAN
‘[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller’ SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB
‘As intellectually stimulating as it is gripping’ DAILY TELEGRAPH, BOOKS OF THE YEAR 2018
‘Takes you right into the heart of darkness’ MAIL ON SUNDAY
‘A must-have new read’ DAILY EXPRESS
‘Wonderfully sinister’ THE OBSERVER
‘Frightening’ THE TIMES
‘Addictive’ INDEPENDENT
‘Terrific’ JOANNE HARRIS
‘Brilliantly done’ FIONA BARTON
‘A great achievement’ HERMAN KOCH
‘Claustrophobic and unsettling’ BBC NEWS
‘[A] creepy tale of obsession’ SUNDAY MIRROR
‘An unsettling tale of merciless self-scrutiny’ RENEE KNIGHT
‘A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs’ WOMAN & HOME*********

How far would you go to protect your family?

Family is everything. So what if yours was being terrorised by a neighbour – a man who doesn’t listen to reason, whose actions become more erratic and sinister with each passing day?

You go to the police, but they can’t help you. You become afraid to leave your family at home alone. But there’s nothing more you can do to protect them.

Or is there…?

FEAR is a brilliantly grippling, original psychological thriller – for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL and THE DINNER.
————————-FEAR is translated from the German by Imogen Taylor

Publisher Review

Highly original and chilling * BOOKRIOT.COM * The most original thriller of the year * NETGALLEY * FEAR is a smart, psychologically complex and morally acute fable decked out in the garb of an intricate thriller... [and] a wry, complex, at times disturbing survey of middle-class life * SYDNEY MORNING HERALD * Thought-provoking and intelligent, calling into question our own values when dealing with those on the fringes of society.. Genuinely chilling, and a compelling read * ELIZABETH HAYNES, bestselling author of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER * FEAR grips you from the get-go. A creeping, creepy and darkly-hued tale of family, fatherhood and failure, it is also a deliciously suspenseful thriller, an intelligent investigation into guilt and a superb slice of bourgeois domestic noir * STAV SHEREZ, author of A DARK REDEMPTION * A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs * WOMAN & HOME * I loved it. So rich and claustrophobic. An unsettling tale of merciless self-scrutiny * RENEE KNIGHT, Sunday Times bestselling author of DISCLAIMER * A must-have new read * DAILY EXPRESS * FEAR shifts our moral codes. It makes us sympathetic to violent revenge, accessories to murder. Do we want the victim to survive? No, we don't. Long after I had put this book down I still didn't. A great achievement * HERMAN KOCH, bestselling author of THE DINNER * This creepy tale of obsession will make you wonder 'what would I do?' * SUNDAY MIRROR * Addictive... There's a twist at the end that is worth waiting for * INDEPENDENT * Its layers of paranoia and memories are brilliantly done to play on every parents' deepest fears - including mine * FIONA BARTON, bestselling author of THE WIDOW * [An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller... A powerfully disturbing read * SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB * If you liked WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN, try FEAR by Dirk Kurbjuweit... Claustrophobic and unsettling * BBC NEWS * I'm intrigued by Dirk Kurbjuweit's novel FEAR, about a stalker living downstairs * LIONEL SHRIVER, Observer's Best Holiday Reads 2017 * Kurbjuweit takes you right into the heart of darkness * MAIL ON SUNDAY * Something we've not seen before in contemporary crime fiction * GUARDIAN * Beautifully written, frightening and absorbing * THE TIMES * Wonderfully sinister. . . You'll never see your neighbours in the same light again * THE OBSERVER * Five stars - as intellectually stimulating as it is gripping -- Jake Kerridge * DAILY TELEGRAPH * Praise for FEAR, the most original thriller of 2018 for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW by A.J. Finn, LULLABY by Leila Slimani and ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL by Sarah Vaughan: A terrific, original thriller, and a marvellous exploration of the psychology of menace - I loved it * JOANNE HARRIS *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible