Publication Date: 26/05/2022 ISBN: 9780008394479 Category:

Endless Forms

Seirian Sumner

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 26/05/2022 ISBN: 9780008394479 Category:
Hardback

£20.00

Quantity:

Description

‘A funny and beautifully written welcome to the enigmatic, weird and wonderful world of wasps’ DAVE GOULSON, author of SILENT EARTH
There may be no insect with a worse reputation than the wasp, and none guarding so many undiscovered wonders.

Where bees and ants have long been the darlings of the insect world, wasps are much older, cleverer and more diverse. They are the bee’s evolutionary ancestors – flying 100 million years earlier – and today they are just as essential for the survival of our environment. A bee, ecologist Professor Seirian Sumner argues, is just a wasp that has forgotten how to hunt.

For readers of Entangled Life, Other Minds and The Gospel of Eels, this is a book to upturn your expectations about one overlooked animal and the wider architecture of our natural world.

With endless surprises, this book might teach you about the wasps that spend their entire lives sealed inside a fig, about stinging wasps, about parasitic wasps, about wasps that turn cockroaches into living zombies, about how wasps taught us to make paper.

It offers up a maligned insect in all its diverse, unexpected splendour; as both predator and pollinator, the wasp is an essential pest controller worldwide. Inside their sophisticated social worlds is the best model we have for the earth’s major evolutionary transitions. In their understudied biology are clues to progressing medicine, including a possible cure for cancer.

The closer you look at these spurned, winged insects – both custodians and bouncers of our planet – the more you see. Their secrets have so far gone mostly untapped, but the potential of the wasp is endless.

Publisher Review

'A book I never knew I needed that is an absolute delight to read ... Face your fears and dive into this captivating excursion into the lives of this most maligned insect ... Finally, a cure for our irrational fear of this unfairly demonised insect ... A book that draws us in to the strange beauty of what we so often run away from' Robin Ince 'If you've ever wondered "why do wasps exist?" you must read this book. There is so much more to them than you ever imagined. A funny and beautifully written welcome to the enigmatic, weird and wonderful world of wasps. Wasps are seriously cool' Dave Goulson, author of A Sting in the Tale and Silent Earth 'At last, the ultimate answer to the age-old question - what's the point of a wasp? I thought I knew about wasps - I was wrong. Endless Forms is a tremendously good read that left me buzzing with excitement and reminded me why I became an entomologist' George McGavin 'Sometimes the most perfect books are those that shine a light on surprising, neglected subjects. Endless Forms is just such a book. Seirian Summer writes lucidly and entertainingly about this most fascinating of creatures. You'll never ask "what's the point of wasps?" again' Will Storr, author of The Science of Storytelling 'You also shouldn't miss Endless Forms ... which explains why you shouldn't, on any account, go squashing these remarkable creatures to a pulp ... [A] marvellous, revelatory natural history' Caroline Sanderson, The Bookseller, Editor's Choice

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible