Publication Date: 04/05/2017 ISBN: 9780062327192 Category:

Dumplin’

Julie Murphy

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Publication Date: 04/05/2017 ISBN: 9780062327192 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Sarah Dessen comes this powerful novel with a fearless heroine-self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson-from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine, Dumplin’ is guaranteed to steal your heart. Dubbed “Dumplin'” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked…until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back. Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself.
So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Clover City beauty pageant-along with several other unlikely candidates-to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any girl does. Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City-and maybe herself most of all.

Publisher Review

"Will's singular voice compels readers to think about all that goes into building-and destroying-self-esteem...Splendid" -- Booklist (starred review) "I'm obsessed with this book. Wickedly funny, heartbreakingly real, full of characters to love and cheer for. DUMPLIN' is such a star." -- Katie Cotugno, author of How to Love and 99 Days "DUMPLIN' should be required reading for anyone who has ever felt even slightly uncomfortable in his or her skin. Julie Murphy's star continues to shine with this groundbreaking, poignant story that will surely change lives." -- John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Noggin and Where Things Come Back "Murphy...successfully makes every piece of the story...count, weaving them together to create a harmonious, humorous, and thought-provoking whole." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "[A] richly enjoyable novel...a clever and funny book to please lovers of thoughtful romance and secret pageant fans." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Genuine, romantic, and with a dash of Texan charm, this is a novel that celebrates being who you are while also acknowledging that it's incredibly difficult to do." -- The Horn Book "Portrays and challenges sterotypes about beauty pageants, size issues, and women's concerns...Powerful." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "Honest and unflinching, this is a compelling story of one teen's struggle with cancer, love, and living. A worthwhile addition." -- School Library Journal Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "Readers will turn the last page wanting to know where the next chapter leads." -- Kirkus Reviews Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "Alice and Harvey's relationship is raw, honest, moving, and unapologetic in its depiction of their individual, and collective, pain." -- Booklist Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "Julie Murphy weaves together a tender and funny tale of love, friendship, heartache, and redemption. SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY explodes with brutal honesty, brilliant wit, and unflinching heart." -- John Corey Whaley, winner of the Michael L. Printz Award for WHERE THINGS COME BACK Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "Julie Murphy's SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY is a funny, heartfelt, honest look at the beauty and the risk of getting a second chance. An inspiring novel about all the things worth living for. I adored this debut!" -- Siobhan Vivian, author of The List Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "A funny and touching novel about a strong-willed heroine who finds facing death simple, but facing life heart-wrenchingly complicated. A real original." -- Jennifer Echols, author of GOING TOO FAR Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "A tale of unlikely romance, impossible obstacles, and mortality, this book is a must-read."- -- Teen Vogue Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "It's equal parts fun, cringe-worthy, and totally fearless!" -- Seventeen Magazine Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: "An unexpected twist on the typical cancer story." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible