Publication Date: 07/07/2022 ISBN: 9781839132094 Category:

Cuckoo Summer

Jonathan Tulloch

Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Publication Date: 07/07/2022 ISBN: 9781839132094 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£7.99

Quantity:

Description

Summer 1940. As the cuckoo sings out across the Lake District, life is about to change for ever for local boy Tommy and his friend Sally, the mysterious evacuee girl who lives on the neighbouring farm. When they find a wounded Nazi airman in the woods, Sally persuades Tommy not to report it but to keep the German hidden. This starts a chain of events that leads to the uncovering of secrets about Sally’s past and a summer of adventure that neither child will ever forget.

Publisher Review

"A ripping wartime adventure and a love letter to Lakeland's farms and fells" -- Melissa Harrison "With a brilliant cast of characters, dialogue to die for and a tone reminiscent of Robert Westall at his finest, I was hooked from the very first page" -- Phil Earle "Beautifully written... A moving story about identity and finding your family for fans of "Carrie's War" and "Goodnight Mister Tom"" * The Bookseller * "an exciting and lively story... It is great fun" * Books for Keeps *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible