Publication Date: 17/09/2020 ISBN: 9781838770709 Category:

City of Spies

Mara Timon

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
Publication Date: 17/09/2020 ISBN: 9781838770709 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

The stunning debut from the new name to watch in espionage thrillers. For fans of Charlotte Philby and The Bletchley Circle, this is perfect Sunday night drama.

LISBON, 1943: When her cover is blown, SOE agent Elisabeth de Mornay flees Paris. Pursued by the Gestapo, she makes her way to neutral Lisbon, where Europe’s elite rub shoulders with diplomats, businessmen, smugglers, and spies. There she receives new orders – and a new identity.

Posing as wealthy French widow Solange Verin, Elisabeth must infiltrate a German espionage ring targeting Allied ships, before more British servicemen are killed.

The closer Elisabeth comes to discovering the truth, the greater the risk grows. With a German officer watching her every step, it will take all of Elisabeth’s resourcefulness and determination to complete her mission.

But in a city where no one is who they claim to be, who can she trust?

‘Perfectly captures the conflicted loyalties of wartime espionage in neutral Portugal . . . atmospheric . . . tense’ Sarah Armstrong, author of The Wolves of Leninsky Prospekt

‘Casablanca meets le Carre’ A. K. Turner, author of Body Language

Publisher Review

Mara Timon perfectly captures the conflicted loyalties of wartime espionage in neutral Portugal. Lisbon provides an atmospheric setting for the twists in this tense spy novel where everyone has chosen a side * Sarah Armstrong, author of The Wolves of Leninsky Prospekt * City of Spies is a highly accomplished debut featuring a fabulously feisty heroine, a cast of engaging, authentic characters, a racy plot - seasoned with plenty of sex - played out against the fascinating and glamorous backdrop of WW2 Lisbon. Casablanca meets le Carre for a refreshing spin on the sometimes creaky spy thriller genre * A K Turner * Bond meets Blaise in WWII. Absolutely genius. Car chases. Intrigue. Love. Danger. And that thing that elevates a novel - Empathy * Derek Farrell, author of Death of a Diva * I don't think I have enjoyed a historical fiction spy story as much as this for a very long time. It is written by a very talented writer who brilliantly takes you into the less travelled land of the life of a female SOE operative in World War II . . . We are treated to the very best in the espionage genre, full of as much detail about the nitty-gritty spy stuff to keep any fan of this kind of book happy . . . This is an espionage tale of a different class . . . an accomplished debut from an author who is most definitely one to watch * Brown Flopsy's Book Burrow * Realistically exciting and a thriller which maintains a breathless pace, this is an adventure in wartime Europe which expands on the already fascinating stories of female Special Operations Executive heroines . . . This is a book that is virtually impossible to put down . . . A fast-moving and enjoyable story with a warmth of personality which is memorable, I thoroughly recommend this remarkable novel * Northern Reader * Wow. How is this a debut novel? I have loved it. Completely gripped me from the very beginning and I have been completely addicted to reading it. I haven't been able to put it down. This has a completely unique plot from anything I've read previously. This is definitely an author to watch out for. Not only is this a fantastic read, but her writing style is engaging and will captivate you so that you become fully lost in the pages. This book is filled with likeable characters and at times, I have had James Bond feels whilst reading. I definitely could picture this book as a movie or series. This is a fantastic read, which is highly deserving of five stars * Little Miss Book Lover 87 * I absolutely loved this book. This is easily one of the top three if not top two debuts I've read this year...really superb * Phil Williams, Times Radio *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible