Publication Date: 01/02/2024 ISBN: 9781837932696 Category:

Central Park West

James Comey

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication Date: 01/02/2024 ISBN: 9781837932696 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99

Quantity:

Description

‘The plot goes like a train . . . vivid and compelling’ Ian Rankin

One chance to crack the case. A million ways to lose.

Federal prosecutor Nora Carleton has spent years building a case against a powerful New York mobster. She finally has a star witness whose testimony will lock the defendant away for good.

But the courtroom is an unpredictable place. While the killing of a disgraced former governor appears unconnected to the trial, the fallout from his death means a guilty verdict hangs in the balance.

Desperate to stop the mobster walking free, Nora investigates the darker side of the city to find out how everything connects. The more she uncovers, the deeper the corruption runs. And Nora knows better than most that the truth is a fragile thing – especially in court.

Drawing on James Comey’s thirty years in federal law enforcement, Central Park West is a fast-paced thriller, bursting with tension and authenticity – perfect for fans of John Grisham.

Reviews for Central Park West

‘An accomplished debut.’ Sunday Times
‘A great read. Brimming with been-there-done-that authority… James Comey knows this world like the back of his hand. And he delivers it with the addictive style of an expert storyteller.’ Michael Connelly
‘A masterful blend of legal thriller, police procedural and psychological drama.’ Jeffery Deaver
‘A gripping plot, and breathless pacing combine for a truly outstanding debut – one that announces a bold new talent in the mystery genre.’ Harlan Coben
‘Grabs the reader from the opening scene and doesn’t let go.’ Douglas Preston

Publisher Review

'A great read. Brimming with been-there-done-that authority... James Comey knows this world like the back of his hand. And he delivers it with the addictive style of an expert storyteller.' -- Michael Connelly 'A masterful blend of legal thriller, police procedural and psychological drama.' -- Jeffery Deaver 'A gripping plot, and breathless pacing combine for a truly outstanding debut - one that announces a bold new talent in the mystery genre.' -- Harlan Coben 'Truly outstanding . . . Grabs the reader from the opening scene and doesn't let go.' -- Douglas Preston 'James Comey combines his insider knowledge of every level of the justice system with a natural storytelling voice to create a winning debut. More books, please.' -- Alafair Burke Fast-moving and authentic, it grips like a vice and proves that the former FBI chief has a promising future in fiction * Daily Mail * 'Comey's experience as a New York City mob prosecutor brings plenty of credibility to this fast-paced legal drama.' * Reader's Digest * An accomplished debut * The Sunday Times * [A] clever legal thriller * Literary Review * 'I loved this novel... It's a modern 'good guys vs the bad guys' story in which nearly all of the good 'guys' are actually strong, smart, steely women. It's a smart and satisfying read that I could not recommend more highly.' -- Nicolle Wallace [A] twisty American legal thriller and a very good one at that... zing[s] with tension * SHOTS Magazine * Comey...has a lot of fun with this very readable debut novel - it's not easy to make legal proceedings as compelling as this on the page * The Times * A powerful mix of courtroom drama, police procedural and psychological thriller * Sunday Express * If you enjoy either FBI investigations or courtroom jugglery, you're bound to like this debut combining the best of both worlds * The Morning Star * An engrossingly twisty thriller... very tightly plotted...twisty * The Spectator Book Club Podcast * Terrific courtroom scenes and a splendidly serpentine plot * Irish Independent * Comey, a former director of the FBI, brings impressive insider knowhow to a twisty contemporary legal thriller * Financial Times * There's plenty of action. Plenty of bodies. And a satisfying denouement. Recommended for fans of legal procedurals or New York crime * Law Institute Journal *

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible