Publication Date: 01/02/2024 ISBN: 9780571374458 Category: Tag:

Brutes

Dizz Tate

Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publication Date: 01/02/2024 ISBN: 9780571374458 Category: Tag:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99

Quantity:

Mr B's review

Falls Landing, Florida. Under scorched bougainvillea, in the shadow of the local theme park, a gang of thirteen-year-old girls obsessively orbit around the local preacher’s daughter, Sammy. She is mesmerising, older – and now missing. And the girls know something they shouldn’t…

This fevered coming-of-age story reads like David Lynch was set loose on The Virgin Suicides: darkly beautiful, unapologetically feral, and genuinely surprising. Perfect for fans of Julia Armfield and Emma Cline, I haven’t stopped thinking about this strange little novel since I read it.  – Liv

Description

‘Riveting.’ Elle
‘Brilliant.’ Sophie Mackintosh
‘Glittering.’ Marie Claire
‘Enthralling.’ New York Times
‘Manages to bottle up that chaotic and messy feeling of girlhood.’ Stylist

Huddled at a bedroom window, a group of teenagers peer out at their scorched, swampy, fame-hungry town. Taking turns with the binoculars, their gaze sweeps across the highway and the abandoned construction site to the lake. Figures drift across the landscape: mothers, fathers, a preacher’s daughter.

These girls know everything about everyone – perhaps too much.

‘Beautiful and deeply strange. I loved it.’ Mariana Enriquez
‘Assured, insightful, quietly savage.’ Nicole Flattery
‘Brutes feels wonderfully untethered, wild and unpredictable.’ Danya Kukafka

Find this book on the following lists

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible