Publication Date: 05/04/2018 ISBN: 9781473222038 Category:

Blackwing

Ed McDonald

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication Date: 05/04/2018 ISBN: 9781473222038 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

You think you know Misery? You’ve not seen anything yet . . .

The republic faces annihilation, despite the vigilance of Galharrow’s Blackwings. When a raven tattoo rips itself from his arm to deliver a desperate message, Galharrow and a mysterious noblewoman must investigate a long dead sorcerer’s legacy. But there is a conspiracy within the citadel: traitors, flesh-eaters and the ghosts of the wastelands seek to destroy them, but if they cannot solve the ancient wizard’s paradox, the Deep Kings will walk the earth again, and all will be lost.

The war with the Eastern Empire ended in stalemate some eighty years ago, thanks to Nall’s ‘Engine’, a wizard-crafted weapon so powerful even the Deep Kings feared it. The strike of the Engine created the Misery – a wasteland full of ghosts and corrupted magic that now forms a No Mans Land along the frontier. But when Galharrow investigates a frontier fortress, he discovers complacency bordering on treason: then the walls are stormed, and the Engine fails to launch. Galharrow only escapes because of the preternatural magical power of the noblewoman he was supposed to be protecting. Together, they race to the capital to unmask the traitors and restore the republic’s defences. Far across the Misery a vast army is on the move, as the Empire prepares to call the republic’s bluff.

Blackwing is a gritty epic fantasy for fans of Mark Lawrence, Scott Lynch and Daniel Polansky.

Readers can’t get enough of Blackwing:

‘A splendid debut that is brilliantly written and I found it amazingly difficult to put down. It superbly presents a completely original, complex and epic fantasy world with incredible and believable characters’ Goodreads reviewer,

‘Blackwing is, simply put, awesome. It’s gritty, edgy, suspenseful, and often poignant’ Nicholas Eames

‘One of the greatest fantasy books I’ve read in my life. Perfect in every possible way. Ed McDonald is on a par with Joe Abercrombie and Brandon Sanderson’ Goodreads reviewer,

‘Quickly gained the rare distinction of being one of those books that felt as if it had been written especially for me . . . A remarkably assured fantasy debut that mixes of the inventiveness of China Mieville with the fast pace heroics of David Gemmell’ Anthony Ryan

‘Blackwing is a new entry into the Grim Dark Fantasy realm, and a well written one . . . Venture in if you dare’ Robin Hobb

‘From start to finish I was excited to read this book! . . . The story is continuously in motion and there is so much magic! All kinds even! . . . Read this epic debut!’ Goodreads reviewer,

‘This thing is just magnificent . . . an astonishingly accomplished debut’ Peter McLean

‘Ed McDonald is a great story-teller and as such its 360 odd pages fly by . . . well paced with incredible characters and a refreshing and original world and magic’ Goodreads reviewer,

‘Blackwing is a truly unique vision of a world, set with an eclectic mix of weaponry, technology and science and a brilliant magic system’ Anna Stephens

‘Like if Joe Abercrombie told a story in the voice of The Warden from Low Town . . . Will definitely be following up with the series’ Goodreads reviewer,

Publisher Review

Vivid characters, visceral combat and a twist of an ending that I really should have seen coming and didn't (wizards are bastards and here's the proof). Brilliant use of magic as technology, too, like lightbulbs and water heaters. Excellent gender representation . . . Suffice to say, I bloody loved it and I am officially an Ed McDonald fan. He deserves to go far. * Elspeth Cooper, author of THE SONGS OF THE EARTH * Blackwing walks the line between post-apocalyptic fiction and fantasy, but still manages to inject a sense of wonder amongst all the grit. I hope Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch aren't resting on their laurels because there's a new blade in town * Gavin Smith, author of The Age of Scorpio * Gritty and immersive, Blackwing is a hugely enjoyable tale * Edward Cox, author of The Relic Guild * The reader takes an action-filled rampage through defense to attack, from injury to sorcery, faith to naivety and reality in what truly is a phenomenal start to a unique new series. * BRITISH FANTASY SOCIETY * A thoroughly engrossing read, I could barely put it down, I loved it and I want more. * LYNNS BOOKS * A new author who, in my opinion, with this one book is going to blast onto the fantasy scene and prove that there is new talent out there. * RAPTURE IN BOOKS * I was completely hooked. It was viscerally real and the adventure kept coming. * SF CROWSNEST * Vivid characters, visceral combat and a twist of an ending that I really should have seen coming and didn't (wizards are bastards and here's the proof). Brilliant use of magic as technology, too, like lightbulbs and water heaters. Excellent gender representation . . . Suffice to say, I bloody loved it and I am officially an Ed McDonald fan. He deserves to go far. * Elspeth Cooper, author of THE SONGS OF THE EARTH * If you like fantasy at all, then you simply must read Blackwing. * COVER TO COVER * This is dark, gritty fantasy, and it's been executed perfectly. * THE BOOK BUNDLE * Blackwing is one of the greatest fantasy books I've read in my life. Perfect in every possible way. Ed McDonald is on a par with Joe Abercrombie and Brandon Sanderson. Cast aside whatever you're reading and start Blackwing instead. * BOOKNEST * Freaking fantastic! * I SHOULD READ THAT * I heartily recommend this. * Adrian Selby, author of Snakewood * A cracking read - hugely entertaining, brutal but with real heart too. * Tom Lloyd, author of the Twilight Reign series. * Overall, Blackwing is a fast paced novel that is likely to become a classic within the genre. It can be read as a self-contained story, but with a clear opening for the series to continue. This is the best debut novel in the genre this year. A joy to read. * STARBURST * Ed McDonald has taken something old and made it new... it's epic. * Fantasy Book Critic * A very impressive debut, with complex characters and an imaginative setting that does much to impress the reader. * SFF WORLD * Ed McDonald is an author to watch out for. I don't say things like this lightly. I read a lot of fantasy, and I don't hesitate to say that this will be one of the biggest fantasy debuts of the year. McDonald has given us the first instalment of what looks to be a very interesting series. * THE BOOK BAG * Fabulously inventive and at times horrifyingly funny and action packed. * MORNING STAR * An impressive work of fantasy, and one I think we'll be hearing more about. Highly recommended. * SF AND F REVIEWS * Their story moves at an (ahem) spellbinding pace. * SFX MAGAZINE * Blackwing is a book that surprised me more than any other has so far this year. It's the debut of Ed McDonald and boy what a way to make an entrance. * SF BOOK * A real fantastical page-turner. * SciFiNow * Guaranteed already, this will be one of the best books I will read this year. * FANTASY BOOK REVIEW * Dark, twisty and excellent... Grimdark with heart. * MARK LAWRENCE *

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible