Publication Date: 02/09/2021 ISBN: 9781913193676 Category:

Black Reed Bay

Rod Reynolds

Publisher: Orenda Books
Publication Date: 02/09/2021 ISBN: 9781913193676 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

When a young woman vanishes from an exclusive oceanfront community in the middle of the night, Detective Casey Wray’s takes on a case that leads her in chilling, unexpected directions … A twisty, breath-taking police procedural. First in a heart-pounding new series.

‘Urgent, thrilling and richly imagined. Without doubt his best yet’ Chris Whitaker, author of We Begin at the End

‘Reynolds captures the claustrophobic feel of a small town … a tense slice of American noir’ Vaseem Khan, author of Midnight at Malabar House

‘If you were hooked on Mare of Easttown, this will be right up your street … I read this obsessively’ Nina Pottell, Prima

‘Rod Reynolds makes the most of this desolate, windswept location … a thrillingly complex narrative develops at speed … his superior cop saga is just the first instalment of a projected series’ The Times
____________________

Don’t trust ANYONE…

When a young woman makes a distressing middle-of-the-night call to 911, apparently running for her life in a quiet, exclusive beachside neighbourhood, miles from her home, everything suggests a domestic incident.

Except no one has seen her since, and something doesn’t sit right with the officers at Hampstead County PD. With multiple suspects and witnesses throwing up startling inconsistencies, and interference from the top threatening the integrity of the investigation, lead detective Casey Wray is thrust into an increasingly puzzling case that looks like it’s going to have only one ending…

And then the first body appears…

For fans of Susie Steiner, Peter Swanson, M J Arlidge, James Lee Burke and Tana French
___________________

**LONGLISTED for the CWA Steel Dagger for THRILLER of the YEAR**

‘Electrifying’ Crime Monthly

‘An awesome read. A turn of the screw in every chapter’ Oscar de Muriel

‘If you love Harlen Coben and Lee Child, you will love this … cinematic, epic, you will forget to breathe’ Miranda Dickinson

‘Compelling and stylish, with devious twists and a cleverly crafted ending. Very, very impressive’ G J Minnett

‘A twisty, high-stakes, high-voltage murder mystery’ Tim Baker

‘In Casey Wray he has created a series character with an engaging mix of guts and vulnerability ably supported by a strong supporting cast. His prose style is crisp with the occasional touch of the poetic that lifts noir writing out of the pulps’ Shots Magazine

‘Beautifully written, deeply atmospheric and cleverly plotted, with a brilliant new protagonist’ Andrea Carter

‘Utterly gripping and packs one hell of an emotional punch. Perfect for fans of Bosch’ Steph Broadribb

‘There’s something particularly special about Black Reed Bay and it’s Detective Casey Wray … I felt like I’d known her all my life’ Joy Kluver

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible