Publication Date: 09/04/2020 ISBN: 9781788165075 Category:

Bitter Wash Road

Garry Disher

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
Publication Date: 09/04/2020 ISBN: 9781788165075 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

‘Disher shows that he is a top-class writer’ – THE TIMES

‘Vivid and visceral, combined with Disher’s usual deft plotting’ – GUARDIAN

‘One of Australia’s most admired novelists’ – SUNDAY TIMES
________________________________________

ONE DEAD-END POSTING. ONE DEAD BODY.
A TRAGIC ACCIDENT? THAT’S WHAT THEY WANT YOU TO THINK…

Constable Paul ‘Hirsch’ Hirschhausen is a whistle-blower. Formerly a promising metropolitan detective, now hated and despised, he’s been exiled to a one-cop station in South Australia’s wheatbelt. So when he heads up Bitter Wash Road to investigate gunfire and finds himself cut off without backup, there are two possibilities. Either he’s found the fugitive killers thought to be in the area. Or his ‘backup’ is about to put a bullet in him.

He’s wrong on both counts. But Tiverton – with its stagnant economy, entrenched racism and rural isolation – has more crime than one constable can handle. And when the next call-out takes him to the body of a sixteen-year-old girl, it’s clear that whether or not Hirsch finds her killer, his past may well catch up with him.

Winner of the German Crime Prize, this new novel from Ned Kelly Lifetime Achievement Award-winner Garry Disher is perfect for readers of Jane Harper, Chris Hammer and Dervla McTiernan.
________________________________________

‘This novel is superb, and Disher deserves fame over here’ – THE SUN

‘Terrific stuff, utterly gripping’ SAGA

‘Peace will have you longing for a sequel’ SEATTLE TIMES

‘Disher at his brilliant best’ – WEEKEND HERALD

‘A tasty slice of Aussie noir’ – SHOTS

Publisher Review

'Garry Disher is one of Australia's most admired novelists ... a superb chronicler of cop culture' * Sunday Times * 'A popular and prolific crime writer who, his fellow Australians claim, ought to be more highly regarded here. Disher shows that he's a top-class writer' * The Times * 'There is a lot to like in this story, with several unexpected and surprising changes in direction combined with Disher's usual deft plotting' * Guardian * 'This novel is superb, and Disher deserves fame over here' * Sun * 'a riveting, suspenseful thriller infused with desolation and paranoia which ratchets up the tension with well-placed twists' * Herald * 'Will have you longing for a sequel' * Seattle Times * 'Terrific stuff, utterly gripping, and there are sequels on the way from this award-winning Australian author' * Saga * 'A tasty slice of Aussie noir... this is a terrific crime novel, tightly plotted, leaking just enough facts to keep the reader fascinated. One that begs another visit to the outback' * Shots Magazine * 'Disher at his brilliant best' * Weekend Herald * 'Disher's writing style is so assured that scenes skip off the page and straight into the imagination, with telling little flourishes of words and sentences that make you sit back and marvel before reading them again for the sheer pleasure of it. Right there in the spotlight is Hirsch himself. I for one can't wait to meet him again!' -- Crime Fiction Lover 'A satisfying complex mystery that reflects on corruption, deep rooted racism and rural isolation and decline. A piece of vivid storytelling; brutal and fast paced. Fans of Peter Temple will find much to like here' -- Crime Time

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations

  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible