Publication Date: 05/10/2017 ISBN: 9781473639690 Category:

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Publication Date: 05/10/2017 ISBN: 9781473639690 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£8.99

Quantity:

Description

From the author of The House Between Tides, winner of the Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry’s The Essex Serpent.

‘Maine writes beautifully’ THE TIMES
‘Riveting’ PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family’s estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them.

An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre’s former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.

Evelyn never believed that James was guilty – and her father’s role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.

*****

‘Stunning’ Booklist

‘Maine’s gift of setting the mood shines’ RT Reviews

Publisher Review

Maine contrasts Hetty's present-day consternation with the past story of Blake and his wife, delivering details at a perfectly suspenseful pace... the historic mystery will keep readers guessing right up until the end. * Booklist * Maine skillfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a Barbara Vine-like psychological mystery...The setting emerges as the strongest personality in this compelling story, evoking passion in the characters as fierce as the storms which always lurk on the horizon. A debut historical thriller which deftly blends classic suspense with modern themes. * Kirkus Reviews * Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for [this] impressive debut...[a] beautifully crafted novel. * Publishers Weekly * '...it came as a great surprise to learn that this was the author's debut novel. I predict great things for Sarah Maine.' -- The Book Bag A tremendous accomplishment. So assured, so well-judged, and with such an involving story to tell, this might be the author's fifth or sixth novel, not her first. A literary star is born! -- Ronald Frame, author of The Lantern Bearers and Havisham There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel * Independent * Praise for The House Between Tides -- : 'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines in her latest novel... Fans of Kate Morton's rich-with-atmosphere novels will feel right at home.' * RT Reviews * Descriptive passages of lush, beautiful landscapes frame Maine's riveting portrait of a thoughtful young woman who yearns for more than is offered by her station and her gender, and the rough-and-tumble young man who is inexorably drawn to her. * Publishers Weekly * Maine's beautifully detailed descriptions of the American hinterlands provide a stunning setting for this historical tale of intrigue and suspense * Booklist * 'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' * The Times * Praise for Beyond the Wild River * : * Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for [this] impressive debut...[a] beautifully crafted novel * Publishers Weekly * A tremendous accomplishment. So assured, so well-judged, and with such an involving story to tell, this might be the author's fifth or sixth novel, not her first. A literary star is born! There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel * Independent * Praise for The House Between Tides Maine's gift of setting the mood shines in her latest novel... Fans of Kate Morton's rich-with-atmosphere novels will feel right at home. * RT Reviews * Descriptive passages of lush, beautiful landscapes frame Maine's riveting portrait of a thoughtful young woman who yearns for more than is offered by her station and her gender, and the rough-and-tumble young man who is inexorably drawn to her. * Publishers Weekly * Maine's beautifully detailed descriptions of the American hinterlands provide a stunning setting for this historical tale of intrigue and suspense * Booklist * Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness * The Times * Praise for Beyond the Wild River

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible