Publication Date: 27/08/2019 ISBN: 9781250317469 Category:

Best Friends

Shannon Hale, LeUyen Pham

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: 27/08/2019 ISBN: 9781250317469 Category:
Paperback / Softback

£9.99

Quantity:

Description

Shannon knows sixth grade is going to be a perfect year. She’s got a spot in the in-crowd called The Group, and her best friend is their leader Jen, the most popular girl in school.

But the rules are always changing, and Shannon has to scramble to keep up. She never knows which TV shows are cool, what songs to listen to, and, most importantly, which boys you’re allowed to talk to.

Who makes these rules anyway? And does Shannon have to follow them to stay friends with The Group?

Publisher Review

"Somehow, Hale and Pham have made the "normal girl" into the ultimate cool girl." --The New York Times Book Review "This uncommonly honest portrayal of the lures and pitfalls of popularity will likely ring true to many elementary and middle-school readers." --Booklist, starred review "A terrific look at middle school culture . . . This authentic, important book will mean a great deal to many kids." --School Library Journal, starred review "A must-read for fans of Raina Telgemeier or Victoria Jamieson . . . This glimpse into middle school is insightful, introspective, and important." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review "A natural suggestion for fans of Cece Bell and Raina Telgemeier, this book offers an honest, empathetic, and encouraging narrative for young readers braving the ups and downs of the tween years." --Horn Book Praise for Real Friends: "Fresh and funny." --New York Times Book Review "The book's truth is as vibrant as its art." --Washington Post I have two boys, they love these books. They love to talk about the friendships, I love that I am discussing all of these issues through the lives of these girls. There is something about it that's so wonderful. --NPR "Wistful, affecting, and utterly charming." --Booklist, starred review "A heart-stabbing tale of the everyday social agonies of girlhood." --Wall Street Journal "Shows us the incredible kindness and solidarity that girls can and do display." --The Mary Sue "Bound to resonate with most readers, especially fans of Raina Telgemeier." --School Library Journal, starred review "A wonderfully observed portrait of finding one's place in your world." --Publishers Weekly, starred review "Nails what it's like to navigate elementary-school friendships." --Parents Magazine "Sure to be loved by anyone who has ever felt like an outsider." --Victoria Jamieson, New York Times-bestselling and Newbery Honor author of Roller Girl "Fresh, fun, and achingly real. Bravo!" --Jennifer L. Holm, New York Times-bestselling and Newbery Honor author and co-creator of Sunny Side Up and the Babymouse series "This book is SO GOOD. SO MANY FEELS." --Gene Luen Yang, American Born Chinese

Book experts at your service

What are you looking for?

A recommendation
Something specific
  • Mr B's Recommendation Station
  • Fill in the three questions below, along with your name and email address, and our book experts will be in touch soon with their personal recommendations
  • I'm after something specific
  • Tell us about the book, author or subject you're looking for, along with your name and email address and our book experts will be in touch as soon as possible